We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Alright”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night. The hotel is in the middle of a housing area and my sat navigation went bonkers trying to find it. Rooms very clean. But nothing remarkable. Service at dinner was pleasant but food slow. Breakfast was okay. But they could learn from Premier Inn. Absolutely nothing wrong with hotel but nothing about it stands out particularly at price.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wardenhodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny -General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your review, which I was a little disappointed to read. We would like to think that our product is significatly differentiated to our competitors, and I am genuinely sorry that non of the 'small details' stood out for you on this visit. I sincerely hope that next time you come, we make a more positive impression.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,063)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

788 - 794 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed one night with a friend. Beds very comfortable, room clean and tidy with complimentary toiletries and room service.
Evening meal was very very good, and the service was excellent. Staff helpful, friendly and approachable.
Would defiantly recommend and looking forward to my next stay, The facilities are highly recommended and I will use them on my next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Lovely review, thank you so much. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed one night, with our baby. Bed very comfortable, room clean and tidy. Swimming pool was great, just warm enough for the little one who had a great time! Staff were very friendly. Evening meal was very very good, and breakfast was nice but expensive for what it was.

Room Tip: Building going on at the moment so our room had scaffolding outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank threeofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thanks for the super review, i'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My family and I had a lovely stay at this hotel. I regularly use their sister hotel for work and was hoping it would be of a similar calibre and it didn't let me down. There was a minor mix up with rooms upon arrival which was quickly resolved before we'd even unpacked by the duty manager. The restaurant, service, friendliness of staff were all top quality and I would recommend. The facilities (gym, pool, kids area) are all of a very good standard, particularly the pool which was perfect temperature for our 4month old baby. It's location is perfect for most of the Lake District. Bowness-on-Windermere was about 50mins away whilst Keswick was only 15-20 mins. Some great activities in the area for kids and site seers. Thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Great comments again, thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night. It USA lively hotel, very pleasant helpful staff. Lovely breakfast. Headroom service, beautiful meal, fast service and beautifully presented.
Will stay again. Value for money.

Room Tip: Room service is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosephZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed with 2 children aged 10 & 12 in April. On the whole we had a lovely trip, but it's a bit expensive, and I think they could do a little better in some areas:-

Positives- 1. Beds comfy & room clean on arriva. l 2. Named cookies for kids lovely touch, thank you! 3. Spa & pool are both super & we enjoyed 3 treatments there. Pool is always busy, but pool, changing rooms etc all well maintained and lovely. 4. Location easy to get to straight off M6, but v handy for accessing lakes and 15 mins walk into Penrith town (although don't expect scenic views of the lakes from your window!) 5. Free parking & wifi are great. 6. Breakfast is pretty good, though expensive really, and not as good as most other 4star hotels. 7.flexible check-out & in times

Draw backs:- 1. Room was nicely presented & clean on first arrival, but 2nd day beds were only loosely tidied - not completely remade and so the beds still looked crumpled ( I could have done as much) - not what I'd expect of 4 star service at all. 2. food & drink onsite expensive for what it is - again, they suffer from pretentions of grandeur. 3. bathroom's a little dated & there was a few unpleasant stains on bath and around bath fittings. 4. loud water hammer noise from pipes could be heard from our room and adjacent rooms - I can't believe the management are not aware of it, as it's really bad. 5. On an amusing note, the HIDEOUS EXTERIOR PAINTWORK IS NOW TELETUBBY TURQUOISE BLUE, not the white that is on the photo on Trip advisor! It looks more like a cheap holiday camp than smart hotel, - even the locals commented on how garish it is. 6. Feather pillows are standard, and give no support, but replacements were provided when asked from reception desk.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

A mixed review, with some positives (thank you) and some negatives, for which I am genuinely sorry and promise to review with the team. Sorry you don't like the new colour! It's a bit like Marmite, people either love it or hate it! I do hope the negatives do not deter you from returning.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Bit of a mixed bag here really.

Spa. VERY nice indeed. Loved using the pool on Sunday morning and the steam room was great.

Hotel room. We had to be moved, as the room was not clean really, dusty and a bit dirty. The pillars were NOT clean at all, the cases were, just not the actual pillar. The new room was ok, but even that had a VERY dirty cup in the bathroom. Attention to detail, it makes all the difference. In the rooms, soap only as well, no shower gel? No ideas why.

Food. Breakfast is quite expensive, so we skipped that. We had a few drinks, which were VERY expensive. Cheese and ham sandwich, with salad and a few crisps, £8. Nice as it was, come on ! £8!

I would stay again if I had the chance, I just think that hotels take the chance to fleece you with high prices on drinks and food, and this is no exception really.

Room Tip: Inspect it first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HunterTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks for your review, and I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. Apologises about the condition of your pillow and of course this ought to have been picked up. I'm so sorry! As a consequence, I have asked my Head Housekeeper to audit the condition of all pillows and replace as necessary. Thank you for making me aware of your issues. I hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
468 reviews
17.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
17.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
12.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Lakes Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Lakes Hotel & Spa

Address: Ullswater Road, Penrith CA11 8QT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range: $149 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North Lakes Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional hunting lodge style of the North Lakes Hotel & Spa, Penrith reflects the rugged beauty of the Lake District. Local stone, natural wood and open log fires create a genuine 'away from it all' environment in this exclusive 4 star resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your North Lakes Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Lakes Hotel And Spa
North Lakes Penrith
North Lakes Hotel & Spa Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing