We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service, good stay”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This is my third time staying at the hotel, and although there are a few small negatives, the positives outweigh them. Yes, the exterior isn't the most becoming, but you only see it when you pull into the car park! Yes, I think the bathrooms could do with updating, and yes there's better settings around the area than there.

However, the hotel is great for families - nice little touches like the cookie with your child's name, a drink and the trekkers den, along with a nice pool (complete with good changing areas). The restaurant was really good, and if taken as a DBB option, represents excellent value as there's no menu restrictions. The service of the staff was impeccable, despite there being 2 weddings on the 2 nights we stayed. The hotel bar is also reasonable - as far as hotel bars go!

I also thought the rooms were reasonably priced compared to similar hotels in the Lakes. Although the location's not the best in terms of views etc, it was really convenient for travelling around the Lake District.

Room Tip: Family exec rooms have bunk beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niccade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thanks for this, especially your comments about our great service and the value of our dinner inclusive rate, we couldn’t agree more!

Kind regards
Antony Penny,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    360
    132
    64
    26
See reviews for
277
364
25
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The hotel is located at junction 40 of the M6 motorway yet the whole time we were there I never heard traffic noise or saw the motorway. It has a large car park, lawns and then trees so as may be expected not being officially in the National Park you don't get any special views from either bedrooms of the lounge or dining areas.
Outside the lounge and dining area there are pleasant expanses of grass but on a trivial note the grass was so long it was not easy to play football with lively children.
Similarly the only other trivial critisms is that the car park bays are marked out so narrow that there's little room between cars so must get the luggage out before parking up.
The bedrooms were clean, well appointed and modern. The family room had bunkbeds as well as a pullout sofa bed and king size double. However, the one let down was we could not manage to open the window wide as it got quite hot in the bedroom even without the heating on. There was a very nice touch when we arrived in the bedroom for the kids to find special cookies on a plate with their names written in choclate icing!
The spa area was well laid out with large lockers and spotless showers having huge heads for that mass invigorating shower. There is a 'Trekkers' club within the spa area with large Wii projected onto a large screen. other computer games (X-boxes) and lots of other things to keep all ages of kids older than toddlers fully occupied.
The breakfast and dinner was great. The wine list was extensive - a nice French merlot was had with a large steak and another excellent s'blanc Australian red with the leg of lamb.
All the dining staff were very attentative and helpful.
Especially on our last morning, when one of us in the party was late for breakfast
(having been woken up at 9:30 by the hotel fire alarm test!) the staff were most accommodating in getting him a plate of cooked food and some pastries.
The hotel has internet access and a terminal available overlooking the spa near reception which was handy just to check on some local attractions. The reception area is extremely well appointment with information leaflets and maps of what to do in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Lovely review, thank you so much. Let's hope it's not too long before we welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
396 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Didn't stay at the hotel....but found it a lovely spot for lunch en route to the Lakes. Quite a difference from the usual motorway pit stops for sure....!
Lovely ambiance inside and helpful staff too......worth a try!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celtic-Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Thank you so much, and you are welcome anytime!

Kind regards,
Antony Penny,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

what a joy to find - last minute - a perfect family stopover. The pool and spa area are superb, with an added surprise of a children's playroom - with everything from scheduled movie-time to wii and playstations. The restaurant was very good - and if paid as part of the room - representing very good value.

What stands out though is the customer service - the staff are the stars - with nothing too much trouble and yet never over-bearing. Closely followed by the amazing location right by j40 of the M40 - yet with peaceful gardens and calm interior.

What lets it down? The pale blue, tired motel-style building is a great disappointment - and the "executive family room" was not immaculate.... Not dirty - but thick dust where te bunk bed was pulled down and a can's ring pull on the floor. The net curtains were dirty and the bathroom needs refreshing - very much a three star room
/ bathroom.

However - imagine the children's excitement at the pool complex, chasing rabbits in the garden, eating superb children's menu food - served like adults. Yet with spontaneous gestures like personally named cookies in the room for each child... Boxes of toys presented midway through dinner... (lynette was amazing)...

A perfect stopover and a great retreat - expect a top 3 star 60s motel with great food and facilities - and exceptional service from an amazing and proud team of staff.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyGompels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Thanks for your feedback, especially about my team! You will be pleased to note that the Executive Family rooms will be refurbished shortly, and additionally we are due to address the exterior colour scheme.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at this hotel as a short summer break and we were disappointed with the hotel from the start. I do have to say that the staff were lovely and couldn't be faulted.
We booked this after reading the reviews on this site and looked forward to a lovely stay in a four star hotel, however on arriving in the car park the hotel looks very dated from the outside. We had booked a double room and when we got to our room, to our surprise it was infact 2 twin beds joined together, something I have never experienced in a four star hotel and we weren't happy with this, when we went to reception they did change us to a room with an actual double bed which was an executive suite but which had a massive stain on the floor!!
The hotel was noisy from our room we could hear washing machines and tumble driers on until after 11pm. The room doors were noisy you could hear the people in the next room opening and closing wardrobe doors and every time someone in the surrounding rooms to us flushed the toilet the pipes made a terrible noise.
The bathroom needs modernising and the shower curtain was horrible, my fiance had to crouch in the shower as he is over 6foot tall, the toilet didn't flush properly and it just appeared to be old and tired.
The rooms are also very warm at all times and could do with air conditioning as the heat was uncomfortable during the night. We were also disappointed to find the pool and spa closed on one of the days we were there and have since discovered this has happened before.
I have absolutely no idea how this hotel can have a 4 star rating and I am only glad that we weren't spending a lot of time in the hotel as we were out exploring the Lake district. Very disappointed with this hotel and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lassie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
It goes without saying that I was bitterly disappointed to read your review. I will write to you separately with a gesture of goodwill.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This is the most family friendly hotel i have ever stayed in. They go the extra mile for the little ones and make you feel special the moment you arrive. I would definetly stay there everytime I am in the area. Thank you, to all the staff at the hotel for a wonderful and relaxing stay. Rachel & Frank Mule

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrisr774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
As we move into the ‘family season’, this is wonderful feedback, thank you.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This was a last minute find for us having changed plans on our holidays and we had a great overnight stay. The kids loved the cookies with their names on them! Such a treat and the staff were excellent - very welcoming! I'd def recommend here; in fact I'm sure we'll be back :)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faithe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
12.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,530 reviews
24.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,332 reviews
21.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,837 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Lakes Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Lakes Hotel & Spa

Property: North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Address: Ullswater Road, Penrith CA11 8QT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Lakes Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional hunting lodge style of the North Lakes Hotel & Spa, Penrith reflects the rugged beauty of the Lake District. Local stone, natural wood and open log fires create a genuine 'away from it all' environment in this exclusive 4 star resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your North Lakes Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Lakes Hotel And Spa
North Lakes Penrith
North Lakes Hotel & Spa Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing