We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2011 Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“2011 Holiday”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This is the most family friendly hotel i have ever stayed in. They go the extra mile for the little ones and make you feel special the moment you arrive. I would definetly stay there everytime I am in the area. Thank you, to all the staff at the hotel for a wonderful and relaxing stay. Rachel & Frank Mule

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrisr774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
As we move into the ‘family season’, this is wonderful feedback, thank you.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    363
    133
    65
    26
See reviews for
278
368
25
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This was a last minute find for us having changed plans on our holidays and we had a great overnight stay. The kids loved the cookies with their names on them! Such a treat and the staff were excellent - very welcoming! I'd def recommend here; in fact I'm sure we'll be back :)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faithe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Enjoyable stay here,

+ Comfortable rooms
+ Good gym, sauna and pool
+ Good Service

- Room service was terrible (burger was dry and tasteless)
- Food in the restaurant is average
- Not a very rural location if you're on holiday (close to the motorway)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olievans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Glad to note that you enjoyed your stay overall, but obviously disappointed to read your comments regarding your food experience. We regard our food and beverage offering as one of our key differentiators, and I can only apologise most sincerely if we have let you down. This is certainly not the kind of feedback we are used to receiving, and as such, I do hope that this experience will not deter you from choosing us in the future.

Kind regards
Antony Penny,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Hotel well sited by M6 motorway junction , quality hotel with very good restaurant serving excellent food. Breakfast of the same high quality. Good leisure facilities.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_marshall_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Lovely feedback, thank you. Please don’t leave it too long before you return!

Kind regards,
Antony Penny,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed overnight on the girls night in package. The hotel is beautiful once inside (the outside although well maintained is a bit basic). We checked in without any problems are were given a selction of chick flicks to choose from. Once inside the room there were bathrobes, slippers, chocolates and bottle of nail varnish for each of us. We spent a couple of hours making use of the spa facilities which we enjoyed. During the evening we sat and watched films and generally had a good girlie chat. Staff brought us tapas, popcorn and icecream up to the room (which was part of the package) which we throughly enjoyed. Breakfast was also really good. Overall we had a great stay and would recommend this hotel and the girls night in package. The staff were all very friendly and curteous and a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theclanmacbeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
This package is great value for money, and proving ever more popular. Thanks for your comments about the team!

Kind regards,
Antony Penny,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Albeit a bit pricey and located a bit off the real beauty of the lake district, this hotel is great - especially with kids. Room was fairly large (executive family room), but the real winner is the pool, the kids' dinner at night (with actual real food and no romantic dinners to spoil since the kids eat early) and the delicious breakfast. Great service, free wifi and a charming interior.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
The pool is always popular with our younger guests, and it was great to hear your comments on our childrens menu, thanks.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

A very good hotel with well maintained public areas and an attractive spa. Not cheap, but ultimately you get what you pay for. We had a standard room which was very spacious and comfortable.

We ate in the bar a couple of times. The food was very good and nicely presented but very similar to what was on offer in the main restaurant, with similar prices.

The best thing about the hotel is the staff. They were without exception friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerPuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
3rd review running commenting on the friendliness of the team – they will be delighted. Thank you.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
24.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
374 reviews
12.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,550 reviews
21.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
352 reviews
21.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
21.0 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Lakes Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Lakes Hotel & Spa

Property: North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Address: Ullswater Road, Penrith CA11 8QT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Lakes Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional hunting lodge style of the North Lakes Hotel & Spa, Penrith reflects the rugged beauty of the Lake District. Local stone, natural wood and open log fires create a genuine 'away from it all' environment in this exclusive 4 star resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your North Lakes Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Lakes Hotel And Spa
North Lakes Penrith
North Lakes Hotel & Spa Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing