We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Another Place, The Lake(Watermillock)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (946)
Filter reviews
947 results
Traveler rating
413
339
104
59
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
413
339
104
59
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roomsconesdappers barstair liftfeature roomone way systemcar parkthird floortravelzoo dealtraditional hotelcream tealovely hoteltop flooron arrivalsecret escapesevening meallounge area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
656 - 661 of 947 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The hotel was warm and welcoming in the depth of winter. We had an upgraded room which was well decorated and immaculately clean. The only problem with the room was that you could hear people talking in the next room and the Penrith revellers on a Saturday also made themselves heard.

The staff were friendly, very efficient and attentive.

We ate both breakfast and evening meals at the hotel and in general food was OK other than hot breakfasts were generally lukewarm. Service was good

Room Tip: The standard rooms are small so consider an upgrade to a club room and rooms at the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathon1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Just returned from a two night Booster Break at The George. As ever it was a lovely relaxing stay. The staff are excellent and efficient. We upgraded to a feature room as a treat for my husbands birthday which was really lovely and very spacious.

Unfortunately the food wasnt to the standard it has been in the past and we went out for tea on the second night rather than stay in the hotel which we would normally have done, but still the stay was very enjoyable all things considered and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpongebobPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Booked for 2 nights with friends for the New Year Package. What can we say, can't fault it.
Service, Room, Staff, Food, Entertainment and Trip out all excellent plus.
Would recommend this hotel again and again
Thank you
Phil and Mo

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Just got back from a two night stay, service excellent, food ditto, room a bit small but comfortable nonetheless. Breakfast service was very good, and rivaled the service we have had in 5 star establishments, all in all very good value, if you are thinking about a trip to the lakes this Hotel is a serious contender.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andybsmith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Booked in for 3 night package at Hogmanay. Well worth the money. The room was compact but well appointed, looked freshly decorated, nice and quiet room with very large shower/bath room and we had a present of a box of chocolates. We had a murder mystery at dinner which was very entertaining and a lot of fun. Taken out by private coach the following day and provided with a lunch then hot buttered crumpets and coffee on our return. We had two nights of canapés and cocktails and so much food, that all we felt we were doing was eating! The food was excellent, the entertainment provided by the DJ was okay on Hogmanay, but I have to say that without the DJ it would have been rather so so. He was very good at getting the evening going with party games and throwing luminous bangles which we had to 'earn' by doing stupid things - brill fun - loved it. This was our second visit at New Year and it was better this time, much more fun involved. The staff are so friendly and helpful we can't recommend it enough. Will definitely go back, not this year, but certainly in the future. Thank you for a lovely time George Hotel!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tranquil8y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews