We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband booked a two night DBB break for my birthday via secret escapes, it cost £220.
I thoroughly enjoyed the time spent there, the service and staff was excellent and our food was lovely,no complaints at all.
We had room 12 towards the back of the hotel which was a small room but very well appointed and a noise free night very restful.


Great value for money
Thank you George Hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveholidaysYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (919)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

670 - 676 of 919 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very good, it is very quirky and old fashioned. The lounge and bar areas are very comfortable. I didn't use the reastaurant but had food in the bar.
The room was large and comfortable, and the bed was a king size. Again it was quirky and old fashioned so don't expect a cosmopolitan decor!
The hotel allows dogs which is why we stayed here while on our way to Scotland. They even give you a dog sign for your door. We was okay taking him into the bar area, obviously you can't take dogs into reastaurant but they are allowed everywhere else. Don't let this put you off if your not a dog person, it wasn't overrun with them, ours was the only one there.

The hotel is located right in the centre of Penrith and has ample private parking.

The only negative was that it is probably over priced as a hotel, our 1 night cast £140! Maybe there aren't many hotels in Penrith and they can get away with extortion? Unfortunately for us, because of our need for a dog friendly hotel then we couldn't look around for something cheaper!
If you can get a deal nearer the £100 mark then you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cfox1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here one night en route to Scotland. Penrith isn't particularly nice, with a somewhat run down air about it. However, it is very close to Ullswater, which is lovely. The hotel is comfortably old fashioned within, and, I suspect excellent as an event venue, as the function rooms are great. However, as an overnighter, the Saturday noise late on from the street outside was awful, and the windows in one of our rooms didn't work, so had to be propped open with a bible! Breakfast was nice. Dinner in restaurant was OK, but no more. Staff mostly Eastern European, and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking street at front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCAles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The George. A land mark in Penrith. Well refurbished , pleasant ambience.Nothing bad really just nothing overwheming. Members of staff ok, food ok, price ok. To me it just seems to be missing a trick. Close but could be much closer and could and should be much more of an experience. A shame really.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robertd231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed overnight on a Friday to celebrate Hubby's birthday. We weren't sure what to expect but were more than pleased.
The building is beautiful (yes VERY old so expect sloping floors beams etc - adds to the character) & our room on the 3rd floor was small but perfectly fine with everything we needed & a lovely bathroom.
Our evening meal was a little disappointing but breakfast good.
Do agree with previous comments about the staff being very pleasant but seem to have a wide range of duties & do work hard (with a smile) and do feel more staff would benefit the place in general.
From ring to check availability to checking out, the staff were lovely.
We had a really good time & will definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: No lift & stairs a bit of a challenge if you're a little out of shape!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We booked for 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast and had quite a mixed experience. The first night the food was awful so greasy I was up all night feeling unwell but at least it was quiet. The second night the food was better but at 1.30am was kept awake by screaming teenagers outside-it was a Thursday night but a level results night is all I can imagine- would imagine it is equally bad on a Friday or Saturday night.

The room was very average, small, nothing was level- we were on the top floor and the bathroom especially was very tilted.

Overall I wouldn't return and definitely wouldn't want to stay over a weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
461 reviews
1.3 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
423 reviews
3.4 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
12.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Devonshire Street, Penrith CA11 7SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range: $103 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel is something of a local treasure, situated in the pretty market town of Penrith, perfectly located to explore the Eden valley with Ullswater and the Lake District just a few miles away. The lounge is popular with locals for morning coffee and cake, lunches and afternoon teas. The 2 AA Rosette Devonshire Restaurant's silver and ruby red decor, truly sets the scene for a superb dining experience, with menu’s that focus on simple, fresh, local produce. For more casual drinking and dining, relax in the vibrant Dappers Bar within the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing