We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant and no longer faded”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Elegant and no longer faded”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Following its recent refurbishment the George is now a truly elegant and fabulous place to stay.

We got a very good deal by booking direct and stayed in a newly refurbished room with an enormous and very comfortable bed. All our meals were excellent. The Hotel is in the centre of town and you can simply walk to all the shops etc.

This is the place to be in Penrith.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David_Varty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    290
    91
    54
    32
See reviews for
105
446
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Booked last minute for dinner and the main restaurant was already full so were offered dinner in the Dappers Bar but from the restaurant menu. Bar was really cozy, the open fire which we were seated near as requested a real focal point and the Christmas decorations made everything very festive. Started with a couple of local bitters which were good and then moved on to the food! Starters of black pudding and bacon and apple salad were very tasty but the highlight was the Fleetwood Catch fish stew for 2 which was beautifully presented and delicious! The service was great - felt like we could have been in the main restaurant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HungryOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgehotelpenrith, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback, I am so glad that you enjoyed Dappers bar and the Fleetwood Catch, it was a pleasure to meet you during your visit to Penrith.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Justin Wales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was my first stay in this hotel and my last. The hotel was very poor. There was building work ongoing during my stay - not notified to me beforehand. It essentially meant that the front of the hotel was off-limits. The staff were mediocre. My room was in serious need of a facelift. There were old hairs on the bed linen on my first night and the towel in the bathroom wasn't clean. I phoned reception over a half hour period 3 times - all times it rang out with no answer. I was keen to use the internet for work - I couldn't get online. I reported this to reception 3 times - it was never remedied. The final time, the lady said she didn;t really know anything about machines and advised trying the bar!
The room was poor - I really did not enjoy staying here at all.
There must surely be better hotels in the area and I advise you to find them. I certainly hope I never have to stay here again. Oh, the price charged for the stay (140 GBP per night!) - extortion!
AVOID

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitzy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgehotelpenrith, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Sir

I am so sorry that the renovations and improvements that we are making to the hotel seem to have disrupted your stay.

Can I just comment on your rate, that you mentioned was £140.00 per night. You in fact stayed on our booster break with single occupancy, which is a TWO night stay, the first night with a four course dinner and both mornings with breakfast, Just to add to this fantastic value for money break you where upgraded from a single room to a standard double.

Throughout the renovations we have limited the impact to the guests and have still operated a full restaurant and bar service, offering the same high quality produce and commitment to service. This you will see commented in previous reviews.

The wi fi connection has recently been upgraded throughout the hotel within the renovation giving full coverage to all the hotel.

I do hope that you see fit to visit our beautiful hotel sometime in the future.

Kind Regards

Justin Wales

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The george Hotel in the centre of Penrith is one of thoseplaces that some how are timeless; it bustles with life, It is the hotel for the centre of the town, a meeting place for coffee, luncheon, a pint. I enjoyed a light lunch inThe Dappers bar which in the past was a dingy hole at the back of the hotel; now fully refurbished it is a genuine dlight; comfortable and I have to say the same could be said for the rest of the place; I was meeting a friend and had the opportunity to view his room; I also popped into the ballroom which had a Christmas Fayre on. If you get the chance, pop upstairs and look in at the orchestra gallery; you can tell that Penrith history has played out justoutside the windows.

I was impressed; the place really does sparkle and there is certainly no shortage of staff - and friendly too.
Two real ales on, I suspect the King George Bitter is new badged Cocker Hoop, and the other beer was likewise Jennings; but excellent in quality. An excellent hotel for people watching and on Saturday morning the front of house reminded me more of European hotels I've visited, it genuinely had a feel of hotels i've visited in Germany; clean, efficient, bur friendly and homely, constant flow of food being served; beer, coffee, awash with people heading for the comfortable seating. it just has an air to the place that breathes 'welcome - your our guest' - one could tell that it was a regular haunt of ladies that shop; but likewise for families having a celebration lunch. An English coaching inn that thrives in the 21st century - a rare thing. The owners can be truly proud of their constant effort.
"Meet me at The George" really does mean something - Penrith should be proud of it.
Scones excellent; cream, probably from a spray can - which was one very minor point of criticism; lunch excellent value, beer likewise.
Would recommend to any fellow people watcher; there are plenty of charachters for the writers amongst us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CliffordArchaeology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansfield
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a two night dinner, bed and breakfast break that included tea and scones when we arrived and a packed lunch. The packed lunch came in handy when we left to drive into Scotland. Although the place was in the middle of a renovation our stay was great. Evening meals in the dining room fabulous with a super choice, breakfasts that set you up for the day coupled with brilliant service. A lovely feature was the open fire or fires giving the whole place a warm feeling. The room had been tastefully decorated and was very quiet at the back. Car parking was a bit of a problem with builders vans scattered about but it was all handled very efficiently by reception. All in all a "highly recommended".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gramps01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a wonderful two night break here during a wet and windy October half term. Staff were excellent, food was wonderful and our room was beautiful. Upon arrival, the room allocated was not to our satisfaction, as we could hear the kitchen fans. A brief polite exchange resulted in an upgrade, with no fuss or question. The desk staff member was great! I would thoroughly recommend the George for that pampering time you deserve. Don't forget to eat in Dappers Bar. The burgers are out of this world!!

Room Tip: Not number 16, as it's opposite the kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrumpyGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having previously stayed at the Skiddaw in Keswick we were sent a refurbishment offer which we were delighted to accept as it was exceptionally good value for money. The hotel is situated nicely right in the centre of Penrith so all amenities are within walking distance.
The room was superb, clean and comfortable and lovely and warm. The food was also excellent quality and plentiful with good choices for everyone, (the friends we went with are vegetarian and they were delighted with the choices they had). The staff were very friendly and polite and even though the workmen were busy it caused no disruption to to us at all.

We went to find the Lacey Caves which was a nice walk and then we came acroos the Brief Encounter Cafe on Langwathby Station. This is part of the Settle to Carlise line, the food and service here was also excellent quality and value

Room Tip: There are quite a few stairs to the top floor so if stairs are a problem request a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancashirecherub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
15.9 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#1 of 11 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
17.1 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
3.4 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Devonshire Street, Penrith CA11 7SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The nostalgic wood panelling and old local prints on the walls combine to create an atmosphere unique to the George, where many generations of loyal visitors have returned time after time. Relax in the recently restyled Dappers Bar, take afternoon teas in front of open fires, dine in the intimate candle-lit restaurant, with its new and enticing menu featuring regional produce and mouth-watering desserts, or dance the night away in the magnificent ballroom.The hospitality and friendliness of the staff match the hotel’s high standards, ensuring that generations of guests return time after time. Sympathetically updated with all modern facilities, guests will appreciate the tastefully appointed bedrooms, including a four-poster bedroom and generously sized family suites.An oasis of calm and gentility, The George will delight visitors with its inimitable grace and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing