We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Excellent reception. Coffee and scones on arrival. Comfy lounge, nice and welcoming. Parking at rear. Get the post code for the car park as its around the back on a one way system, miss it and you go round again! Restaurant food was great, nicely presented, generous portions, friendly service and above all tasted delicious. Breakfast freshly cooked, no buffet style here, just right to set you up for the day. Excellent for the town shops and of course ,The Lakes.Room was good, quiet and relaxing. Nice clean towels and robes and warm with it.The staff were most friendly and went out of their way to accommodate any request. I would definitely stay again. Refurb due in november to some parts but will be done in stages. Special deals until then. Check it out. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Don,t know about others but we had room 33 at the side I think it was. View of the church. Quiet oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    295
    93
    55
    32
See reviews for
107
456
23
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skelmersdale
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Nice hotel in the centre of a busy town. The staff were very friendly, the rooms are comfortable and clean (we had a twin) and the overnight cost was about right. Free car parking is available at the rear of the hotel. Step outside the hotel and shops are available on your doorstep. Also there are plenty of great pubs, all user friendly, and several with live music. Several eating places- Eat in or Take away are available within a very short walking distance. All in All a great to place to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davewelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Was staying on travel zoo deal, 2 nights DBB, afternoon tea on arrival and packed lunch one day. Room was on top floor, was modern, functional, lovely corner bath and comfy bed, fluffy towels and bath robes provided. Not much of a view but you are right in the heart of the town centre so what do you expect.

Only problem we had was finding the car park on arrival, it is out the back of the hotel, but with one way busy streets it was hard to find, it's hidden through a narrow archway.we went round in circles before one of us got out car and directed us in by phone.

Breakfast was nice, self service cold buffet, and waiter service cooked breakfast, was hot and plentiful, and varied slightly each day.

Dinner was good, 3 courses plus coffee and mints for £25, and they varied menu daily, or you could use your £25 instead and choose of houte cuisine menu up to the same value, I had steak one night and was lovely.

Packed lunch was nice touch, sandwich, juice or water, fruit, crisps and a biscuit each was ample for a days sightseeing.

Staff were all professional and courteous, Norbert seemed to be there all day every day, quite a character.

All in all great weekend away and would return

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The George hotel is well located to explore the wonderful surroundings. The hotel is not modern in appearance, but this is to set the expectations of anyone reading the review. The room on the first floor was very large with a very comfortable en-suite and all the expected facilities. No internet in the room but wireless access in the reception/foyer area. Everyone we met was pleasant and helpful. There was one real achilles heel however, the food. Diner the first night, was a late Sunday lunch and the quality of the meat was nothing short of awful and I did mention this during my stay. Breakfast the next morning was approached with some trepidation, unfortunately this was no improvement. A number of items were not available such as kippers, and remained so for the duration of our three night stay. Limited my eating to breakfast only for most of the rest of the stay. Lake district was wonderful and the George Hotel was an ideal location, but I would not recommend the food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGuillaumeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckermet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on a two night deal with breakfast, evening meal, afternoon tea on arrival and a packed lunch for one day. The hotel is in a great location in the middle of Penrith with its own parking out back. The hotel is an a classic old hotel with some modern touches. Our room was on the top floor and a little on the small side but had everything we needed. The evening meal on the first night was not too good, I had liver which was way over cooked but as it was part of the very good deal it wasn't worth complaining about. The second nights meal, duck which i asked to be rare was much better, still over done but not as bad as the liver!
The packed lunch and the afternoon tea were both nice touches. Overall we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jansbuyingmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I've just returned from a two might stay at The George. I had a great time and for the most part I LOVED the hotel. It was wonderfully old-fashioned in a very good way. It was refreshing to see an old market town's main hotel doing so well these days.

The rating may seem a little harsh - I would have liked to have given it a little more, but I couldn't bearing in mind other ratings I have given.

The biggest fall down was with staff. The welcome was good, but the Hotel obviously caters a lot for an older clientele asnd we felt we were shouted at a lot just in case we couldn't hear!

The food, breakfast in particular was very good, but our only other niggle was that whilst breakfast is advertised until 9.30 it's a shame that the staff started clearing all the tables around us away, rather noisily it had to be said, at 9.10. In fact they were so noisy it was difficult to maintain a conversation.

Having said all this I would definitely stay there again and I will recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgehotelpenrith, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the George. We are extremely proud of our establishment and staff that have been in place for many years. The George attracts a whole range of ages as it has been a meeting place for all the generations over the years and remains that way today and I assure you that we do not shout but have a very positive and friendly approach towards service. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards

Justin Wales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Met by friendly and helpful staff on arrival at reception.
The room and bathroom were clean and very comfortable.
Resturant was first class and menu was excellent and breakfast selection was perfect.
Hotel being in centre of town was perfect lots of history in town.
Just 20 minute drive to lakes Keswick.
All staff are a credit to the hotel.
Will definitely make a return visit

Room Tip: we had room at back which was quiet the front could be noisy I expect at weekends with locals out e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
17.1 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,048 reviews
15.9 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#8 of 10 in Penrith
424 reviews
3.4 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
17.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Devonshire Street, Penrith CA11 7SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The nostalgic wood panelling and old local prints on the walls combine to create an atmosphere unique to the George, where many generations of loyal visitors have returned time after time. Relax in the recently restyled Dappers Bar, take afternoon teas in front of open fires, dine in the intimate candle-lit restaurant, with its new and enticing menu featuring regional produce and mouth-watering desserts, or dance the night away in the magnificent ballroom.The hospitality and friendliness of the staff match the hotel’s high standards, ensuring that generations of guests return time after time. Sympathetically updated with all modern facilities, guests will appreciate the tastefully appointed bedrooms, including a four-poster bedroom and generously sized family suites.An oasis of calm and gentility, The George will delight visitors with its inimitable grace and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing