We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner in Penrith”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The George was suggested as a place for a good meal so we tried the early evening offer of a 4 course meal with wine for £19.50 each. We ate in the restaurant in comfortable surroundings and the service was friendly and efficient. The food was a mixed bag with good starters and mains with a sorbet in-between. The deserts were presented well but not right in consistency. Overall we enjoyed the meal and it was very good value and a popular venue. We did not stay at this hotel, but the restaurant is open to non residents.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Expectal0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgehotelpenrith, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thank you for your comments. Our wine & dine offer is very popular and we have had some great feedback.

Kind regards
Kathryn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

765 - 771 of 893 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

Recently stayed here with my boyfriend through Secret Escapes, for his birthday and it was just wonderful. On arrival we were welcomed by the General manager and was really helpful directing us to the free car park behind the hotel. We then had afternoon tea in the lounge area, and the only disappointment was the cream with the scones was not think cream, almost tasted synthetic. Lovely sandwiches after a long 4hr journey.

There was a wedding in the hotel, but you would not have known it was there, but staff advised of the music, but nothing to worry about. Asked for wine in our room on arrival, would have been nice to served in an ice bucket, as was not cold on arrival. Room was amazing as were the facilities.

Lovely location with plenty to see & do.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgehotelpenrith, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Thank you for your comments, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards
Kathryn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We booked this break through secret escapes, and believe it was the deal of the century!
The staff were welcoming, the hotel old fashioned (in a nice way), and the food excellent.
We were given the four poster suite which had the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. Didn't even mind being woken by the Greggs delivery van opposite at 3am each morning. The hotel is very convenient for touring the Lakes. We enjoyed it so much that we are considering it as the venue for our wedding next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgehotelpenrith, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Thank you for your kind review, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We would be more than happy to welcome you back for your wedding day and if you require any further information please contact me on 01768 862696.

Kind regards
Kathryn Messenger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

After an awful trip up the M6,we were greeted by very friendly and efficient reception staff. We had a cream tea as part of our package, and, eating that in the Lounge, was the first step to our relaxing into our break. The room was lovely, and, although some parts of the hotel look a bit tired and in need of TLC, it is all really clean, and well looked after. Our package included dinner on both nights, and the food was plentiful and well prepared, with plenty of choice. We also received a picnic lunch which we took on our trip to Ullswater.
All in all a lovely place to be, with helpful, friendly staff, great food, and a very comfortable room - what more could we want?

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgehotelpenrith, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Kathryn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and i booked a 2 night stay here as a special offer. We was pleasantly surprised with the service we got from all the staff, nothing was too much trouble. Food was to a high standard and plentyful, packed lunch nice touch and very enjoyable. Room very clean, we couldnt fault this hotel in anyway.We will be going back with friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgehotelpenrith, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for your great comments. Our packed lunch has been very popular and with so many nice places to visit in the area you can take lunch and enjoy it while taking in some of the lovely views.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Kathryn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for business. I arrived in the evening and was greeted by very friendly gentleman who was on reception. He notice I had a limp as I had injured myself the previous day and he changed my room to a lower floor without me even having to ask.
The room was very comfortable and felt really cosy. Everywhere was very clean and the bathroom had a large bath and fitted shower. I had one problem during my stay and phoned reception who came immediately to rectify this.
There was a pleasing variety of food on offer, I had the usual English Breakfast which was lovely but there was also the option of Haddock and Poached Eggs or Kippers.
I would definately recommend this hotel for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ikab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgehotelpenrith, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for your kind review, it's always nice to here how the staff have enhanced our guests stay. We have a great team at the George Hotel and I'm sure we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon
Kind regards
Kathryn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

recently had a fabulous weekend with friends here. the hotel is full of character and very good service. great value for money and plenty to do.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ph1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgehotelpenrith, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Kathryn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
17.1 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,128 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
449 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
760 reviews
1.3 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Devonshire Street, Penrith CA11 7SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range: $104 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The nostalgic wood panelling and old local prints on the walls combine to create an atmosphere unique to the George, where many generations of loyal visitors have returned time after time. Relax in the recently restyled Dappers Bar, take afternoon teas in front of open fires, dine in the intimate candle-lit restaurant, with its new and enticing menu featuring regional produce and mouth-watering desserts, or dance the night away in the magnificent ballroom.The hospitality and friendliness of the staff match the hotel’s high standards, ensuring that generations of guests return time after time. Sympathetically updated with all modern facilities, guests will appreciate the tastefully appointed bedrooms, including a four-poster bedroom and generously sized family suites.An oasis of calm and gentility, The George will delight visitors with its inimitable grace and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing