We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly & helpful staff. Great stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very friendly & helpful staff. Great stay.”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for business. I arrived in the evening and was greeted by very friendly gentleman who was on reception. He notice I had a limp as I had injured myself the previous day and he changed my room to a lower floor without me even having to ask.
The room was very comfortable and felt really cosy. Everywhere was very clean and the bathroom had a large bath and fitted shower. I had one problem during my stay and phoned reception who came immediately to rectify this.
There was a pleasing variety of food on offer, I had the usual English Breakfast which was lovely but there was also the option of Haddock and Poached Eggs or Kippers.
I would definately recommend this hotel for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ikab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgehotelpenrith, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, it's always nice to here how the staff have enhanced our guests stay. We have a great team at the George Hotel and I'm sure we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon
Kind regards
Kathryn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    280
    91
    54
    32
See reviews for
103
439
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

recently had a fabulous weekend with friends here. the hotel is full of character and very good service. great value for money and plenty to do.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ph1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgehotelpenrith, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Kathryn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Obtained special offer to stay at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Located within Penrith itself with easy access to shops etc. free car park at rear of hotel with access to reception from here. Staff friendly and food very good on the whole. A couple of minor disappointments was that the cream to go with the scones and jam for afternoon tea appeared synthetic and tasteless and I did doubt that my steak was char-grilled as described.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillhendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgehotelpenrith, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us.
This is the first comment I have had about the scones with jam and cream, we do use fresh cream from the local area and it's whipped with sugar in our kitchen at the hotel.
Kind regards
Kathryn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Another place we were recommened to visit, surroundings lovely, well kept and a quiet relaxing atmosphere we thought this place was a real gem amongst others. Having ordered the meals they arrived soon afterwards, first impressions the food looked great but to be honest it really wasn't. The Thai style fish cakes were deep fried large heaps of mashed potato with a few flakes of salmon and a sprinkling of tumeric to add colour. They were tasteless, fell apart over the huge mass (12 inch plate) of crudely cut iceberg lettuce, chunks of cucumber and lumps of tomato. Because they were placed on this sea of basic "salad" they had become soggy and even more inedible. The £12.95 meal was duly sent back and a replacement wasn't ordered. The other meal was a burger which was average, appeared to be homemade and was presented on what some would consider to be on a unhygeinic well used wooden food board, the chips were presented in a heavily tarnished metal container which resembled a gravestone flower urn but were tasty. The burger wasn't very well cooked and was cool in the middle, because it was so thick it should have been cooked at a lower temperature for longer. There was also the same basic lettuce, cucumber and tomato at the side to embellish it, overall it was just about edible but it was certainly not up to standard. Both meals resembled something one would make as a school cookery project. Not a place we would visit again, nor recommend. What a shame, with a little more effort and imagination in the kitchen department it could have been so much better. It should be noted the waiting staff were very polite and their service was excellent. It is time for this establishment to up their game a little, it all reads well but the substance is lacking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theheadgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgehotelpenrith, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
I was disappionted to read your review as this is not our usual standard. I will look into the points you have raised.
Kind regards
Kathryn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I booked a 2 night stay here as a special offer. From the moment we entered the door the staff were professional and welcoming. The room was very comfortable with tea and coffee facilities and a very spacious en suite bathroom. We booked on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis and the food was really good, the choice plentiful and the service in the dining room prompt without being over bearing. The hotel is very centrally situated in the town of Penrith and guests are provided with parking. We had a wonderful stay here and would definitely recommend it!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Restless01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgehotelpenrith, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your comments, our staff will be pleased to read them.
We hope to welcome you back to the George Hotel again soon.
Kind Regards
Kathryn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Ordered bar food on a Saturday night - the steak was dry, the Stilton sauce didn't contain any Stilton, the chips were undercooked and greasy, the chicken balti was bland and tasteless and the rice was stodgy. Overall very poor. The staff tried to compensate by offering some discount but overall I felt cheated out of my money. Staff used the excuse that they had 80 guests as a wedding but that's no reason to serve sub standard food. The peroni was nice though!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColemanWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback although I was very disappointed to read the issues you raised. This is not our usual standard and I have looked into all the points and raised them with our chef and staff.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the George Hotel for a more enjoyable meal.
Kind Regards
Kathryn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Went to Penrith to visit a friend in hospital and decided "Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?", and so took his wife for afternoon tea at The George. My partner had not been there since childhood when his parents had stopped there for lunch on the journey back from Scotland. In some ways it felt as if it had never changed, in others it is very modern in service. We had booked Queen Elizabeth's Diamond Jubilee afternoon tea.
It consisted of a glass of champagne, and as much tea as you need to wash down the cucumber sandwiches, the salmon sandwiches, the ham sandwiches and the egg sandwiches (all freshly made and with their crusts off). Then there was the scone with jam & cream, the Victoria sponge, the raspberry cheesecake, the shortbread, the chocolate brownie and the summer berry compote.
All of this was served with elegance, attention, and just a lovely touch of cheeky humour. Our gust left with an elegant doggy bag containing her shortbread and brownie.
In September I gather they are going to have a Fawlty Towers Murder Mystery night. I'm very tempted to book a place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vic9921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
I'm please to read how much you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us. We've had great feedback on the tea's and they prove to be very popular. It would be great to see you back for our Murder Mystery Evening, we are almost fully booked so don't leave it to long.
Hope to see you soon
Kathryn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
962 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
15.9 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#2 of 11 in Penrith
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
344 reviews
17.1 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,006 reviews
3.4 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Devonshire Street, Penrith CA11 7SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The nostalgic wood panelling and old local prints on the walls combine to create an atmosphere unique to the George, where many generations of loyal visitors have returned time after time. Relax in the recently restyled Dappers Bar, take afternoon teas in front of open fires, dine in the intimate candle-lit restaurant, with its new and enticing menu featuring regional produce and mouth-watering desserts, or dance the night away in the magnificent ballroom.The hospitality and friendliness of the staff match the hotel’s high standards, ensuring that generations of guests return time after time. Sympathetically updated with all modern facilities, guests will appreciate the tastefully appointed bedrooms, including a four-poster bedroom and generously sized family suites.An oasis of calm and gentility, The George will delight visitors with its inimitable grace and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing