We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays
Ranked #11 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just returned from a week camping at Gill Head Farm. It is a lovely site with fantastic views. It has a brilliant children's play area with trampolines and swings etc., our children absolutely loved it.
When you arrive you are told to pitch wherever you want which is great if the site is not busy and the majority of people are sensible but there is always the minority! Unfortunately we were there over the bank holiday weekend when some people thought it was acceptable to pitch their tent so close to others that they were nearly touching even though there were plenty of suitable places available. I do believe it would be much better if the pitches were numbered and the 6m rule that the camping club have was implemented here.
The toilets and showers were cleaned daily but to be honest the showers needed a really good clean the partition walls were very grimy and stained (in both the ladies and gents) and the water that was left in the mop bucket to clean after use was like mud and didn't get changed on a regular basis. There were four showers and three toilets in the main block which was adequate at the beginning of our holiday but over the bank holiday weekend there were exceptionally longs queues for both the toilets and showers every morning and evening.
The washing up areas were very good. Just a minority of people who didn't clean up after themselves leaving food debris etc in and around the sinks.
We paid £33 per night which we thought was on the expensive side. We would probably go back to this site again but not on a bank holiday weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank campingqueen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 121 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived home after a 2 night stay in a camping pod. Each year my friend and her 2 boys go camping during the 6 weeks holidays and decided this year to ditch the tent and try a pod..... We are glad we did! After encouraging her 9 year old and 5 year old up Cat Bells it was lovely to come back to our snugly warm pod. It was lovely and clean and the electric sockets and heater proved useful. The microwave in the central area was useful and the boys enjoyed the trampolines in the play area. We organised breakfast for each morning and loved the porridge with fruit. Toilet and shower block lovely and clean and all staff we encountered were great people. We shall be back ..... Pods are the future!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruthiewilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Eighty pound for two nights in pod = easy money for owners of this farm. Arrived to find exercise mat type mattresses. Very thin and may as well have slept on the floor. Dusty and dirty. Miles away from anywhere and badly lit up when trying to find the place in the evening. Stayed one night and asked for the forty pound back for second night as woke up with aching backs but she wouldnt. Came for a break after receiving bad news, never again wish we had stayed in a b n b.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anneholds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Owner at Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thankyou for your review. Our pricing policy is very competitive and clearly advertised. When you asked about our cancellation policy shortly after your arrival is was clearly explained and you were promised a full refund for the second night of your stay should we be able to re-let the pod which you were satisfied with and decided to stay for one night. We will be sure to make our cancellation policy more evident for future guests. The futon mattresses are exactly as described on the website, as is our location.- most of our customers enjoy our peaceful, secluded location.
We are sorry for you that the camping pods did not match your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We camped here for a week at the end of July and had a brilliant time. The kids loved the play area. We loved the communal room with kettles in! Sadly we didn't discover the stream in the hidden field, but we did find the large shower rooms, which were great. This campsite is in a beautiful location, there is plenty of space for larger tents and the owners are lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k8vincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Owner at Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review.......it's great that you had a lovely time at Gill Head and the Lakes, see you again sometime ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic place, if you are looking for friendly 'home from home' surroundings look no further.
We are staying in the farmhouse (nine of us) and there is ample room and all the facilities you could wish for.
A little shop on site (dismiss visions of some brightly lit chain store - this is a really nice little counter where you can buy your basic supplies). Dog friendly yet so clean (so often not the case with dog friendly places).

If you choose to put anything negative on trip advisor in relation to Gill Head Farm then there really can be no pleasing you! The owners go out of their way to meet your needs and are so helpful I cannot imaging any issue that may arise that couldn't be dealt with.

Lovely accomodation (beds are sooooooo comfy!), well equipped cottage, nice setting - lovely, lovely people.

Would definitely recommend this fantastic place to anyone wishing to visit the Lakes.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sussexsassenach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Owner at Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Gosh...many thanks for your glowing report! It makes all our efforts worthwhile !......I'm so glad you enjoyed your time at Gill Head and we hope to see you return someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived back from a 3 nt camping stay at Gillhead Farm. The views are beautiful. It is a short drive to nearby amenities in Keswick or Penrith. The showers were good and clean. Think there were 5 in the ladies block- never queued! There was also a plug and mirror area to dry/ straighten hair. Added bonus that you could order breakfast cobs the evening before for the following morning. Will definitely recommend to friends and return in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Creameggclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Owner at Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

many thanks for submitting your review.....our best form of advertising is word of mouth so thanks for any reccomendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed in the pod for a night due to the weather being pretty awful. We booked a couple of days before and were able to get a pod which we thought was excellent. The only thing which I would recommend to those who own the site is to send confirmation. My partner gave his card details over the phone to pay for the pod along with his mobile number, on arrival we were rather rudely told that there was no record of us booking the pod but one was still available and we paid. I do think the woman who served us on our arrival could have been a bit nicer but we got on with things. The pod was lovely and spacious and we took everything except our tent. We liked the farm atmosphere and the surrounding views. The farm is in quite a good location with Keswick and Penrith being on either side at about a 10 minute drive. I would recommend the Puzzling Place attraction in Keswick as well as a ride on the Ullswater Steamers. We really enjoyed our experience of glamping and wish we had of booked for longer :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mellyy201092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Owner at Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Many Thanks for your submitting your review , I am sorry that there had been some confusion over your booking , we do send email confirmations on request , we will be sure to clarify this for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
10.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
8.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
17.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
450 reviews
18.6 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
973 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays

Address: Troutbeck, Penrith CA11 0ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Penrith
Price Range: $5 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the spectacular backdrop of the mighty Blencathra and the northern fells, Gill Head Farm offers a warm welcome to our family run working hill farm with a caravan and camping site and traditional lakeland farmhouse self catering accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gill Head Farm Self Catering Holidays Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing