We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely return”
Review of Stoneybeck Inn

Stoneybeck Inn
Ranked #62 of 166 Restaurants in Penrith
Price range: $14 - $35
Cuisines: Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We would like to welcome you to The Stoneybeck Inn, located a stones throw from the heart of the Lake District. A fantastic setting with food to match, luxury bedrooms together with restaurant and conference centre - an ideal location for weddings, parties and any other functions. Cumbrian cuisine at its finest using the best in local produce.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Fancied a change from pubs surrounding Carlisle so decided to give the Stoneybeck a try when my foodie parents were visiting, especially after the good reviews on here. We were not disappointed! Staff were very friendly and welcoming and the building is great. The tables are spaced out a lot more than other pubs/restaurants so it feels much more intimate and private.

We had the burger with pulled pork x 2 (great fun presentation), fish with hollandaise (clean plate) and beetroot and goats cheese risotto (rather huge but delicious with the parsnip crisps and beet leaves on top). Food was so good we even stretched to puss, all of which were yummy. One small suggestion, we had no side plates, so had to butter and eat bread off of our place mats, would make things perfect if these were there.

Well definitely be returning for a special meal in the future!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dayofdiscovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneybeckinn, Manager at Stoneybeck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Good Morning and Thank you for your kind comments tht you posted on trip advisor over this weekend. We always appreciate receiving feedback from customers and im glad to read that you enjoyed your experience with us.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future and wish you all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 238 of 311 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

All can say is WOW!
After hearing that the Stoneyback had a new Head Chef i decided to try it again after all these years.
I was not disappointed! The food was just fantastic, so tasty and presented in such a classy way.
They really do use local and seasonal produce (unlike some restaurants which say they do but they don't at all) which makes the food a pleasure to enjoy. and
The Staff are all really friendly and attentive and make you feel very welcome,the staff are knowledgeable on what they are selling, which is refreshing.
I can not fault this at all.
Whatever the new chef and his team are doing they need to keep it up!
I would recommend this to anyone who wants honest decent food at a reasonable price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneybeckinn, Manager at Stoneybeck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Firstly I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for writing such a kind review as it's much appreciated and your email has been put up on our notice board. The chef would like to express his appreciation for your positive feedback on what he is trying to promote here at the Stoneybeck Inn, and personally sends a big thank you for the write up you have given us on trip advisor regarding your recent visit and has dvised that he has passed on your review around the rest of the team in the kitchen. We wish you all the best and hopefully will see you again soon, best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

A year after our first visit - and what an improvement. The Sunday lunch Carvery was excellent and there was nothing left on my plate. There were 20 of us and we had our own room at one end of the pub and it worked very welll indeed. The young waiter when asked to describe the puddings on offer, rose to the challenge and we clapped him for his brave response. All in all lunch to remember.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneybeckinn, Manager at Stoneybeck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and i am glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Your kind comments have been posted on our notice board in which Im sure the waiter in question will read your nice email. Thank you again for taking the time to write about your experience here at the Stoneybeck Inn as its much appreciated,and we look forward to greeting you again in the future. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Visited Stoneybeck 2 days after the new year. This was to celebrate my sons 21st birthday and I have to say the restaurant did not let us down. Service was first class and if I have had a better meal recently, I cant remember it. Maybe not the cheapest restaurant around here but has to be on of the best. Will be returning again soon. My only complaint was that the coffee arrived before the sweet. Prefer to end with coffee and mints when dining out but all items we ordered were fantastic.and can fully recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneybeckinn, Manager at Stoneybeck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you fo taking the time to write on trip advisor about your recent visit to the Stoneybeck Inn. Its always nice to read kind comments and I have posted on your review on our staff notice board. We wish you all the very best for 2014, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Visited the Stoneybeck on numerous occasions now, the last one being New Years Eve for the 'Murder Mystery' themed evening. On arrival we were greeted by extremely welcoming staff who guided us into the Ullswater suit; where the atmosphere and presentation in décor was fantastic! During the evening we were dinned with an incredible exquisite three course meal, which was also very extensive! Not only was the food fantastic, there was a large selection of fine wines and spirits just to complete the evening!
I would seriously recommend the Stoneybeck for all occasions,as it caters for all individuals preferences and will certainly leave your pallet with an extraordinary experience; which you will want to share with friends and family.
The added bonus to the Stoneybeck, is the highly talented perfectionist Chef, who will cater for any specific taste preferred. Even if what you fancy is not on the menu, a request is considered and will be made if the fresh ingredients is available.
This is a must, and I would like to thank the staff from Stoneybeck for creating such a fantastic warm welcoming experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneybeckinn, Manager at Stoneybeck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your latest visit to the Stoneybeck Inn and i am especially pleased that you enjoyed yourself at our New Years Eve Murder Mystery Night. I have posted your comments on our staff notice board and congratulated the head chef and his team on your behalf. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014, and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stoneybeck Inn also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Stoneybeck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing