We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay and evening meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 66 Penrith B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 16, 2013

+ Very friendly greeting from the staff in a traditional bar/restaurant with rooms that was very busy when we arrived.

+ Ate in the bar since the restaurant area was busy at a table near the pool table.
- Smelt a bit of stale smoke, which is surprising given the length of time the smoking ban has been in place. A pool player was puffing away on an electric cigarette so don't know if that was a factor.
+ Very reasonably priced menu with good options to choose from.
+ The food was delicious with excellent portion sizes for the hungry!

+ Single room at a good price was a decent size (room 14) with lots of storage if you were on a long stay. Furniture is old but that is in keeping with the property. Shower room is small but the shower is good.
- Bed needs to be replaced it is well indented and not comfortable when sleeping on your side.
- Lots of visible traffic on carpets throughout so a thorough carpet clean may be in order. Stairs, bar, corridor.
+ Room on 2nd floor to rear was quiet even when the bar was lively.

+ Breakfast is freshly cooked and was very nice. Relaxed start to the morning.

+ I would stay here again due to service, food and proximity to M6.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LothiansJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 131 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

Called in, just off the motorway, for lunch. Chose it because, although old, it looked well kept from the outside. It was the same inside. Old, but absolutely spotless! Very surprised. The prices were great, the sandwich with chips was so tasty. The toilets were again old, but spotlessly clean with nice soap etc.etc. Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pixiep92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just tried the Station's Sunday Carvery for the first time.
Great relaxed atmosphere , quite busy but well controlled.
Service as ever spot on. Food quality as ever spot on. Value as ever spot on.
Must be in the top 3 eating places in Penrith.
Well done once again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robertd231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Have been atleast 4 or 5 times now. The service , the price, the quality are all top notch.
The place should be packed. We took our son this time as well and he too was impressed.
You get more than it says on the tin.


Well done. We will continue to return.

Thanks

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robertd231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Friendly, amazing value, and excellent quality thats what I experienced when recently visiting.
I would thoroughly recommend this Pub\Hotel for food to any one especially if they like Steak, one of the best rib eye's I've ever had, and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattskiWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Station Hotel along with its neighbour the Agricultural Hotel are the best options for quality pub food in Penrith. As a party of 12 celebrating a friends 50th birthday we enjoyed an excellent evening being fed and entertained last Saturday night by Bev the landlady at the Station Hotel. As others have mentioned she is really friendly and she made sure we were all looked after. We were all impressed by the quality of the food and what good value it was. The Steak and Kidney pie and the chef’s special of Salmon with a sea food risotto were two of the dishes that received particular praise. Well worth the short walk up Castlegate from the centre of town towards the Railway Station if you are looking for a top notch good value pub meal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Newtongate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I helped my other half to arrange a stag do for his best friend and they ended up staying in Penrith. They stopped at nearby Rookin House Farm but realised quite late on the Saturday that they hadn't booked a restaurant for the Saturday night. They had me frantically ringing round to find somewhere that would take a booking for 12 lads at short notice. After a few short conversations with other bars/restaurants and being less than impressed with their people skills, I stumbled upon the Station Hotel. A very friendly, helpful lady told me everything I needed to know and I booked them in there. Every one of the stag party said what a good place it is, friendly and efficient staff, great food, very reasonable prices! All in all, would recommend this place! Many thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieC1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
1 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
0.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ash Bank B&B
Ash Bank B&B
#46 of 66 in Penrith
58 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Rebels Hide
The Rebels Hide
#3 of 3 in Clifton
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Foundry 34
Foundry 34
#38 of 66 in Penrith
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant

Address: Castlegate, Penrith CA11 7JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range: $69 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing