We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“built for the job & it shows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashberry Guest House
Ranked #9 of 66 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

beautiful accommodation, wide stairs - therefore no struggle with luggage - lights in hallways/stairs etc came on automatically - well thought out. everything in the room you could want and attentive hosts,

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HendoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 251 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We only stayed here for the 1 night (attended a wedding nearby) but wished we stayed longer now! Main points; it was incredibly clean throughout, was modern and spacious especially for a guesthouse. I really loved all the finishing touches to the room and the hosts were brilliant; very welcoming and attentive. Very secure house with parking to the rear and is a short couple of minutes walk away from the town centre. It was incredibly good value for money oh and the breakfast was cooked to perfection! Overall, a really lovely place and I'd definitely stay here again.

Thanks again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlackbirdTonypandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Beautiful and modern guesthouse, conveniently located near to the centre. Our hosts were wonderful, friendly and professional at the same time, just what you want from a good B&B. The rooms were luxurious and spotless, with all you would expect and more. Breakfast was delicious. I would highly recommend this place if you are visiting Penrith.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DP_19721917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Ashberry Guest House is excellent value for money: beautifully clean and secure rooms (within a well-secured house); excellent facilities in those rooms; a more than decent breakfast and run by people who listen to you and will always offer advice about the area. It has its own parking space; and the main town centre is no more than a five minute walk away. I can think of no criticism at all and recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maccmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Ashberry Guest House provided all I look for in a B&B - a clean and comfortable bedroom with some thoughtful details (tissues, cotton buds), excellent bathroom and a jolly good breakfast. Security is sound so this would be an ideal B&B for a single woman. Overall a well run establishment which deserves a high rating.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BetteNoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

What a little gem this guesthouse was. We had a fabulous stay with Phil, Vanda and Emma, such warm welcoming people. The rooms were plush and very comfortable, with such lovely details to aid your stay. The food was very tasty and plenty of choice even for the most fussy of people. It was so easy to find and even though it is situated on a main road, we had no sleepless nights, traffic noise is not a problem. If your heading to the lakes this is the best place to stay......give it a try you will not be disappointed. We will definitely be going back! Denise & Andy, Suffolk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Positioned on the outskirts of Penrith town centre, Ashberry Guest House is easy to access. The free onsite parking is a boon for those travelling by car.
We received a very warm welcome from the proprietors and were shown to a bright, well furnished and spotlessly clean onsuite room.
Unsure of where to eat that evening we asked for recommendations. The proprietors have make a point of eating at every restaurant they recommend. On this occasion it was Foundry 34, which was first class.
Breakfast was excellent. Locally sourced produce perfectly cooked and served at your table. There was no limit to the amount you could eat, our host trying to entice us to more of everything.
The room in which we were staying was at the front of the house and there was some traffic noise into the late evening but nothing too intrusive.
Being able to top up the car at the filling station opposite the guest house is very handy.

Ashberry Guest House is as near perfect as possible and we well certainly be visiting again when we travel south on holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the house will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike_emms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 11 in Penrith
935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
0.7 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Red Townhouse
The Red Townhouse
#8 of 66 in Penrith
89 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
434 reviews
0.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashberry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashberry Guest House

Address: Victoria Road, Penrith CA11 8BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range: $96 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashberry Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ashberry Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashberry Guest House Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing