We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run, clean comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashberry Guest House
Ranked #8 of 65 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Ashberry Guest House provided all I look for in a B&B - a clean and comfortable bedroom with some thoughtful details (tissues, cotton buds), excellent bathroom and a jolly good breakfast. Security is sound so this would be an ideal B&B for a single woman. Overall a well run establishment which deserves a high rating.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BetteNoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Ashberry Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 245 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

What a little gem this guesthouse was. We had a fabulous stay with Phil, Vanda and Emma, such warm welcoming people. The rooms were plush and very comfortable, with such lovely details to aid your stay. The food was very tasty and plenty of choice even for the most fussy of people. It was so easy to find and even though it is situated on a main road, we had no sleepless nights, traffic noise is not a problem. If your heading to the lakes this is the best place to stay......give it a try you will not be disappointed. We will definitely be going back! Denise & Andy, Suffolk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Positioned on the outskirts of Penrith town centre, Ashberry Guest House is easy to access. The free onsite parking is a boon for those travelling by car.
We received a very warm welcome from the proprietors and were shown to a bright, well furnished and spotlessly clean onsuite room.
Unsure of where to eat that evening we asked for recommendations. The proprietors have make a point of eating at every restaurant they recommend. On this occasion it was Foundry 34, which was first class.
Breakfast was excellent. Locally sourced produce perfectly cooked and served at your table. There was no limit to the amount you could eat, our host trying to entice us to more of everything.
The room in which we were staying was at the front of the house and there was some traffic noise into the late evening but nothing too intrusive.
Being able to top up the car at the filling station opposite the guest house is very handy.

Ashberry Guest House is as near perfect as possible and we well certainly be visiting again when we travel south on holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the house will be quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike_emms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The room we stayed was fantastic and was spotless clean. The food was also good and the amenities up to par. However the location is not ideal. Ashberry is not located in the best part of the town and the closest shop is the petrol station opposite the b&b. unfortunately we found the host slightly rude and abrasive. Avoid any disagreements with the hosts...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bourbouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanda S, Owner at Ashberry Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

In response to the above comments, we are sorry you feel this way.

However, on arrival to our Guest House, you followed some of our other guests in the door who were already staying. Normally when guests arrive, they ring the door bell and wait to be let in, so they are able to check in. Unfortunately, you failed to carry this out, and then proceeded to let yourself into the room.

As this situation has never arisen before, it came as a shock and surprise to us, due to the fact you were in our home unannounced, therefore leaving us with no idea who you were, or what your intentions were.

I am sure you are aware, we have a duty of care to our guests, ensuring they are safe; this includes knowing who is in our home. In addition to this, we also have to be able to account for everybody in the building, in the case of an emergency, such as a fire.

Overall, we do find that the majority of our guests do have an enjoyable stay and experience with us, from the feedback we receive.

Ashberry Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

One of the best Bed and Breakfast establishments I've ever had the pleasure to stay in. Spotlessly clean, comfortable with a great airy feeling. Phil and his wife could not have done any more to make me feel at home. The Room was well equipped and more than adequate. The selection at breakfast was superb, the service exemplary. I could not recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just arrived back from a wonderful nights stay at the Ashberry. This bed and breakfast fully deserves all the excellent ratings we read! From the genuine welcome we received to the comfort of the rooms it all made for a perfect stay. We must particularly mention the effort put into meeting the most diverse culinary requirements as well - ever the perfect hosts!
Many thanks. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed one night at the Ashberry and were well looked after from the minute we walked through the door till the moment we left to drive up to Scotland the next day. This purpose built guest house is well designed and tasetefully decorated, beautifully maintained and clean. Amanda and Phil have thought of everthing to make their guests stay comfortable. Amanda gave us helpful advice of where to eat and drink in Penrith. Breakfast was superb and set us up for the next leg of our journey. Would we stay again a definite YES!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueG19_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 11 in Penrith
894 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Brooklands Guest House
Brooklands Guest House
#1 of 65 in Penrith
446 reviews
0.9 mi away
Acorn Guest House
Acorn Guest House
#14 of 65 in Penrith
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashberry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashberry Guest House

Address: Victoria Road, Penrith CA11 8BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range: $89 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashberry Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ashberry Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashberry Guest House Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing