We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashberry Guest House
Ranked #6 of 61 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent guest house”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Excellent accommodation, service and breakfast. Good location. Staff warm and friendly. Nothing too much trouble. Would highly recommend. Good on site parking. House very very clean and decorated tastefully.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnwigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
123
7
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
hereforshire, uk
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My boyfriend & I stayed here for one night as we were attending a party in Penrith. The owners are so warm & friendly and they certainly go the extra mile with their standard of service. Amazing rooms, amazing breakfast. We will certainly be going there again if we are ever up that way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodifumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in an en-suite double room with a king bed for 1 night in transit between Wales & Scotland.

The location, close to the major motorway, was very convenient, though we did have to go around the block a couple of times before catching the little turn off into the hotel. Bonus: free parking.

Phil and Vanda were so very helpful in accommodating our needs for gluten free meals (I have celiac disease and my husband is gluten intolerant). They were able to recommend an excellent restaurant within a 5-10 minute walk of the hotel that offered gluten free options (the restaurant is called Foundry 34), and they also went out of their way to provide a gluten free / vegetarian breakfast that was simply delicious: gluten free cereal with non-dairy milk, plus a hearty meal of a vegetarian glamorgan sausage, beans, tomatoes, and mushrooms. Wonderful!

Before we left for dinner, Vanda stopped by to let us know she had some gluten free snacks for us (to replace the usual snacks that are usually left in the room). These were left for us while we were out, and again, we felt this was just such a nice, thoughtful extra touch.

The room itself was very modern and comfortable, and we definitely enjoyed our short stay here. I would highly recommend Ashberry Guest House to anyone and would certainly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeeGirlSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I booked two rooms, for 3 nights, over the New Year break. We had room 2 at the front. I was a little concerned as this faced on to the main road in and out of Penrith however, it was so well insulated we heard nothing! The room was very modern and very tastefully decorated. It was well appointed with TV, tea coffee etc and plenty of hangers in the wardrobe. There were plenty of tea. coffee, hot chocolate and milk etc. In fact when thgey discovered my husband only drinks fruit teas, a huge supply appeared in our room. The room had its own radiator so the temperature could be controlled by us. The bathroom was lovely with a proper shower and plenty of instant hot water (I can't bear having to run around in a shower to get wet or to gave to wait for the hot water to kick in). Shower gel, shampoo etc. were provided. The bed was very comfortable. My in-laws had room 6 on the ground floor. We had booked this room specifically as my Mother-in law is disbaled and it is fully wheelchair accessible and has a wet room. Again, it was very tastefully decorated and well appointed. The guesthouse has its own car park. The communal rooms were excellent with comfy sofas, newspapers and TV. The breakfast was fantastic with good quality, fresh local produce. The whole place is absolutely spotless. Phil and Vanda are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. They pay attention to detail and are very friendly and welcoming. If you are looking for somewher to stay in Penrith - make sure you go here. You will not be dissappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silecroft, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ashberry Guest House last weekend, when we were the only guests! On a cold winter's night the welcome from Phil was very warming as was the whole house. The house is very modern with an excellent standard of decoration, furniture and fittings. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom (whilst a little small) was very well equipped, spotlessly clean and had a superb shower. After a lovely quiet night’s sleep we were treated to a superb choice for breakfast - the full English breakfast was cooked beautifully (not greasy at all) and the local sausage was very tasty. We chose this particular guest house after reading the previous fabulous reviews about it and we were very impressed with the standard and the value for money. We shall be going back to Penrith in April, so we will definitely try and book there again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3, which had a great bed, lovely funiture and a great shower in the bathroom. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul_goodrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Ashberry Guest House at the beginning of September for one night before heading to Center Parcs for a holiday.

I chose this particular guest house after reading such fabulous reviews about it on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed! Our hosts, Phil and Vanda were so welcoming and helpful and were great at helping us to find places to eat and to go walking. Neither of us had ever been to this particular part of the country before so we were grateful.

The Ashberry Guest House is a modern, new build with 6 rooms. We stayed in Room 5, a gorgeous 'red' decorated room complete with en-suite. The room was cosy, but perfectly adequate for the two of us. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and very well maintained. The room offered a TV, Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities and a good amount of storage space. The en-suite bathroom was equally as beautiful and exceptionally clean.

On the ground floor there is a modern lounge which unfortunately we didn't have time to use, but would be a lovely area to sit and unwind in the evening. The breakfast area was very clean and the breakfast itself was delicious. As a vegetarian I had no problems at all. I was offered Glamorgan sausage and I was provided with soya milk for my tea, which really put a smile on my face! (So many places can't provide this!)

Even though Ashberry Guest House is situated on a main road, it has the added bonus of its own car park located to the side of the building, so parking is a breeze.

If we ever find ourselves near Penrith again we would definitely choose to stay here for a second time and would recommend this beautiful guest house to all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReviewAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We just had one night here after attending a relative's 60th birthday party: we know the town of Penrith well as it's where my husband was born and lived till he was 17 and where his parents remained.
We'd booked this hotel via Booking.com and had looked briefly at the reviews. It sounded good.
We didn't check in until about 6pm and certainly got a very friendly welcome - the owner showed us our room, told us how everything worked, pointed out the book with local restaurant menus and where to find the code for the free wi-fi.
Our room wasn't large, but more than adequate for us. It's a purpose built guest house and the rooms have been beautifully furnished and decorated. For a small guest house, the facilities were superb - a very comfortable bed with an oak bedside table each side and on each one, an individual bedside lamp. There's also a switch each side for the main light. The room had a small desk/dressing table with a mirror and reading light. The LCD tv is wall mounted above a shelf where there are tea and coffee making facilities - a choice of coffees and teas plus a couple of packets of biscuits.
The ensuite is excellent - plenty of 'shelf' space for toiletries, a good sized shower with a power shower and a ladder style, heated towel rail + spare hooks to hang towels or clothing. Everywhere was extremely clean.
Downstairs, on entering the house from the front, there's a long room which stretches across the front of the property: at one end is a lounge area complete with television, fire, newspapers and books - including guides to the local area and comfortable seating. At the other end is the dining area with 6 small oak tables (there are 6 rooms).
Breakfast was superb: we had fruit juice - neither of us wanted any of the cereal (lots of choice) or yoghurts. We both had a full English breakfast and were very impressed with the tasty sausage and bacon. We offered a choice of poached, fried or scrambled egg and a choice of white or brown toast (there's a selection of jams and marmalades in little pots on the table). It was all beautifully presented, not at all greasy and perfectly cooked. I had coffee, which came in a cafetiere - this was excellent coffee and I was offered a refill but decided against this before our journey home!
This guest house has disabled access and a room with a wet room, suitable for those with a disability. The bedroom and en suite each have emergency cords too. There's a small car park too which is quite important, so near the centre of the town. The town is just within a few minutes walk and there's a good choice of eating places there.
Neither of us could think of anything that would improve this guest house - our only disappointment was that we only had one night here - but we WILL be back and will certainly recommend it to any friends heading in that direction.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the main road but we heard no noise - I'm sure all the rooms are similar and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mirandayork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
0.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 10 in Penrith
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#8 of 10 in Penrith
425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
The Red Townhouse
The Red Townhouse
#10 of 61 in Penrith
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashberry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashberry Guest House

Property: Ashberry Guest House
Address: Victoria Road, Penrith CA11 8BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashberry Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ashberry Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashberry Guest House Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing