We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont waste your time or money”

Lakeland Bird of Prey Centre
Ranked #3 of 59 things to do in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A large collection of birds of prey - hawks, eagles, vultures, owls, falcons and buzzards, set in a Walled Garden. Flying demonstrations daily from 2 pm to 4pm. Visitors get the opportunity to fly a bird at the display. On site vintage tea room and local crafts.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We (2 adults) visited the Bird of Prey Centre on !st July 2014 having purchase a deal monster voucher which entitled us to entry and Afternoon Tea.
Place was OK but not very well maintained, and the eating establishment didn't appear the most hygienic.
As we arrived around midday and the show wasn't until 2pm we had a wander round. We have been to other Bird of Prey Centres and have to say this one had a few but not many birds. Took us approx 15mins to see all the birds and to kill some time thought we would have our Afternoon Tea before the show. As it stated Afternoon Tea on the deal that was what we were expecting; what we got was Cream Tea - pot of tea, 2 scones, 1 large one with huge chunks of ginger in it and a tiny plain scone, jam and clotted cream. Disappointed to say the least.
Dont mind paying if you get was is advertised. Hate feeling ripped off and that was how we felt. Left without seeing the show.
Can see how this may be OK for youngsters and the elderly, although not much there to keep the youngsters occupied. Definitely not something i would recommend to my friends.

2  Thank Lea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Owner at Lakeland Bird of Prey Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

After your short visit to the bird of prey centre, it would be beneficial to take a look at the review from the previous contributor on this website to understand how to get full enjoyment from the purchase of your voucher. To endorse this further, please read below a copy of the deal that the centre featured with Dealmonster, which clearly lists what is included when you purchased the voucher!



Entry, flight show and more at Lakeland Bird of Prey Centre!

Highlights
Includes luxurious cream tea at the vintage coffee shop
Opportunity to have a bird fly to your hand
Witness amazing flying shows
A wide range of eagles, owls and falcons

The Details
This summer why not witness some amazing birds of prey in flight and even handle these majestic creatures yourself with this exclusive offer from Lakeland Bird of Prey Centre.
With this deal you’ll not only be given entry to the park but you’ll also be given tickets to the daily flight show featuring eagles, owls and falcons as well as a delicious cream tea at the centre’s vintage coffee shop.
Choose from the following options:
Entry, flight show and cream tea for two - £11.50
Entry, flight show and cream tea for four (2 adults, 2 children) - £14.50
Marvel as the centre’s resident birds of prey swoop and dive in their spectacular flying demonstration, where you’ll even have a chance to have one of the creatures fly to your own hand!
After the show you can then enjoy a traditional cream tea with homemade scones and jam, or a cake and squash for the kids, to finish off an unforgettable day in the countryside.

There is no mention of afternoon tea. The price of this deal is reduced to a bare minimum and could not fund an afternoon tea.

We normally, as the deals states, serve the cream tea after the flying display. When Visitors with vouchers arrive early, and we are not busy with lunches, we will serve their cream tea early .

Thank you for your opinion, but I hope this now gives you a better understanding of what you purchased from Dealmonster.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"flying display"
in 58 reviews
"harris hawk"
in 52 reviews
"cream tea"
in 25 reviews
"scones"
in 48 reviews
"tea room"
in 51 reviews
"groupon voucher"
in 7 reviews
"walled garden"
in 22 reviews
"cake"
in 23 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 15 reviews
"two hours"
in 20 reviews
"wood burner"
in 5 reviews
"knew his stuff"
in 5 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 8 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 7 reviews
"afternoon tea"
in 12 reviews
"soup"
in 9 reviews
"adults and children"
in 7 reviews
Filter

216 - 220 of 343 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

Visited this centre today and have had a thoroughly enjoyable day. The bird flying demonstration was so entertaining. The clear commentary from Paul made the afternoon fly by. Excuse the pun, but his humour was infectious.
We chose to have our afternoon tea after the display and this proved to be a good decision. Was a a welcome warm up after braving the cold Cumbrian air. The tea and home made scones were delicious. I also purchased cake and quiche to take away as both recently made by the charming lady who served us. Loved the whole ambience of the tea rooms. Felt like you were in someone's home as a special guest. Indeed, it reminded me of my grandmas house. A happy blast from the past. Well worth a drive out if you are not local. Took us about 1.30 hrs and so glad we visited. Well worth the money. As others have said, at first you think there won't be much to do but we passed a pleasant four hours.

Thank JAFFA_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

A really enjoyable time, well worth a visit. Great for both adults and children with a smashing afternoon cream tea as well.

Thank BigJohn247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My wife and I visited the centre having recently visited another bird of prey display elsewhere and our expectations were modest. The Lakeland Bird of Prey Centre proved however to be a jewel. The display was more an introduction to falconry with lots of information and demonstrations given about the birds, their characters and their habits, all packaged to make the 2 hours pass in what seemed like no more than 30 minutes. We cannot recommend this attraction too highly.

Thank Ivan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Very entertaining and informative display. However we were charged £31 for 2 senior citizens and 1 adult in a wheelchair which we thought was quite expensive.

Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Owner at Lakeland Bird of Prey Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

This is the reply I sent to the above customer as soon as the error was revealed.

Our admission charges are £8.50 for adults, £7 for concessions and £5 for children, under 5's are free. That means your admission should have been..£21 ( 3 concessions x £7) . Therefore you have been overcharged by £10. I have looked at the till receipt and there is a total of £31 taken at about 2.30pm, which appears to have been added to another admission. I am sorry about this and will speak to the lady who was on the admissions at the time, to make sure this doesn't happen again.
How would you like me to refund the £10 to you?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeland Bird of Prey Centre also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Lakeland Bird of Prey Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing