We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grand day out!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeland Bird of Prey Centre

Lakeland Bird of Prey Centre
Ranked #4 of 54 things to do in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A large collection of birds of prey - hawks, eagles, vultures, owls, falcons and buzzards, set in a Walled Garden. Flying demonstrations daily from 2 pm to 4pm. Visitors get the opportunity to fly a bird at the display. On site vintage tea room and local crafts.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“grand day out!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Very informative been twice now. The gentleman who delivers the display is obviously very passionate about his feathered friends which makes the day out even more enjoyable

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank anna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    48
    17
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worth a visit,”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

limited facilites was an issue the clean cafeteria but small. the animal areas were easily accessable.
Bird pens were minimum in size in some areas where the birds appeared restricted. the birds in flight show was wonderful to see, although no cover is available for the public from the cold winds in the open space. This became an issue for my ealderly parents who were with me. Enjoyable but go prepared in attending when the weather is not providing wonderful hot sunshine.!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank donna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good value half day out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

we went with a £19 travel zoo voucher for two people and a small child for free, a quirky little cafe but we first looked round the birds in the large walled gardens situated in cages around the outside. It was a wet afternoon so not perfect but nice to see the different birds. We went back to the cafe for our light lunch which was included and was a choice of sandwich and a small piece of cake and a coffee or tea. The lady was quick to point out that we were only aloud instant coffee with the voucher and the real coffee was extra which i thought was petty for the extra cost, the fruit tea was a very weak Aldi make which again appeared penny pinching. We went for the bird of prey display and the gentleman obviously knew what he was talking about and kept bringing different types of birds, flying them and giving the opportunity to hold the birds which was good.Overall a nice afternoon for the voucher price just a shame the lady appeared to be a reluctant travel zoo user which always baffles me, you either embrace the scheme or don't offer it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank fellbacker_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morlandmonk
Level Contributor
147 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

If you love birds of prey this is the place to visit, amazing up close displays amd a cafe that sells Bellas pies (if you have not had one of these you have not lived!).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank morlandmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
161 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great family entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our family group really enjoyed our afternoon out at the Bird of Prey Centre, another in a long line of Groupon customers ! Previous reviews have given good accounts of the way the place is set up, the tea rooms etc, so I'll just give my advice.
Take something soft to sit on if you're not comfy on hard benches.The display is over 2 hours long so seniors might be happier with a cushion to sit on.
Wear warm and/or waterproof clothing depending on the weather forecast, as the display area is out in the open and is exposed to the weather. There are some brollies you can borrow from the tea room if you forget to take your own.
It's lovely to warm up by the open fire with your scones and tea (or coffee) afterwards.
Highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeland Bird of Prey Centre also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Lakeland Bird of Prey Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing