We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lounge Hotel and Bar
Ranked #21 of 65 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had a lovely weekend in Penrith at this hotel. The room we stayed in was very pleasant although we did experience a broken toilet. After three attempts the toilet was not fixed so the staff moved us to the apartment which was lovely. Although this experience was not ideal, the staff were very helpful, they apologised profusely and went out of thier way to make our second night enjoyable. They even refunded us an amount to say sorry. So although the experience was "troubled" the staff did everything they could to put things right. We can't ask for more than that!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear if you want quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 223 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel for our 17th anniversary and came upon it late in the day, after abandoning our 'plan A' venue near Penrith which was cold, dated and unwelcoming.

Our 'plan B' turned out to be just the opposite and made our anniversary stay really special.
The lounge hotel and bar provided us with a fantastic room (4), venue, level of service, location and choice of delicious food!! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricnbecca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Booked the lounge through late rooms,didn't know what to expect,loved it,beautifully decorated,room was lovely,stayed one night,wished we were staying longer,staff so nice,couldn't do enough for you,definitely go back.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We arrived Friday tea (5 couples) for we were playing Penrith Rugby Club the next day. The rooms were new and odviiously the work carried out was to high level of qaulity. Breakfast first class as was the service throuhout the hotel. 6 of the patry stayed in the apartment which was a great meeting point for pre drinks etc. Penrith is a great traditional market town, we enyoyed both the day and nights out plus we had a win at the rugby.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razor26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Broke our journey up from Scotland to Nottinghamshire by stopping in the lively market town of Penrith. Booked into The Lounge Hotel and Bar around 2 pm we were surprised how busy it was.We were informed as there was a live band booked for the evening they had upgraded us to the apartment which would be much quieter should we intend to have an early night. Most considerate we thought. The apartment was amazing being built in the 17century it had wonderful high ceilings with incredible beams but all mod cons , thick pile carpet, fluffy towels a comfy sofa to curl up on and watch TV etc etc. We had a drink in the bar which had a great atmosphere and asked about eating. We were advised to book a table as Sundays were busy so we decided to take a walk around the town and eat at 4. 30. The advise about booking was correct as every table was occupied definitely the "in" place to be on a Sunday afternoon in Penrith. The staff all appeared very happy in their jobs and our meals arrived piping hot and beautifully presented. The Stilton, courgette and thyme tart with a side order of sweet potato chips was delicious.Our only regret was we didn't take 6 friends along to enjoy the experience. Next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Englishroyals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Every time we go to Penrith we always have a visit to the Lounge. The service is excellent and the food is consistently of a very high standard and beautifully presented.
The decor is somewhat unusual and that adds to it's charm.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This a really civilised place in Penrith which I would recommend to anyone. Great selection of wine and cocktails and some very lovely modern eclectic cooking. Perfect place to while away an afternoon

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BerryKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
909 reviews
0.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
1.3 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
0.5 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lounge Hotel and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lounge Hotel and Bar

Address: Mitre House | King Street, Penrith CA11 7RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range: $107 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lounge Hotel and Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lounge Hotel and Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lounge Hotel And Bar Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing