We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lounge Hotel and Bar
Ranked #21 of 61 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a room here during our C2C bike ride. The room was lovely, comfortable and clean. However it was at the front of the building overlooking the Main Street and while we didn't get noise from the bar directly below, the noise from the street of people enjoying their Saturday night revels was very disruptive. I echo the previous comment that, despite informing the staff what time you want breakfast, it was very busy and the staff struggled to cope.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    62
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
35
81
3
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Slap bang in the middle of Penrith this place was busy with locals and visitors alike. My friend had booked a table so we we seated straight away and in the window so we could people watch as well. Drinks served promptly and from an extensive list. Large menu with plenty of choice for everyone, the 4 of us each had something different, I opted for the stir fried beef and broccoli in teriyaki sauce with rice, which was fab. A word of warning, we were old hat food would take approx 45 mins so were prepared for the wait, not sure if thats normal or if they were short staffed. Th bill when it came was very reasonable considering 2 of us had a second (large) glass of wine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirazMerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Myself and my daughter had afternoon tea at the Lounge on Thursday 1st August.
Comfortable chairs and cool atmosphere, essential during this warm summer.
Plenty food, so much so we couldnt eat it all,
Excellent food and friendly staff.
Thank you we willbe back for definite,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSNS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in the 3 bedroomed apartment attached to the Lounge. On arrival the staff we really helpful, giving us secure storage for all our mountain bikes. The apartment is located at the rear of the pub, with 3 smallish (but acceptable) bedrooms, 1 large bathroom and also a separate toilet. The apartment was clean and tidy. There was also a pull out bed, not that comfortable allowing 8 people to be accommodated.
We ate in the pub downstairs which was really nice, can recommend the burger and chips (very nice).
Breakfast was served in the breakfast room (surprisingly) where the staff were again very helpful and friendly. The cooked breakfast was good, with as much as you wanted. In addition to this there were continental breakfast available and cereals.
Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve19691969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Had another great lunch before we were catching the bus to see Robbie Williams,Lots of different tapas to try & it was all lovely. We had a nice table in the window which we had booked, Staff were also lovely & friendly will be back soon

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northernlass13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stay in Penrith about once a month for work, and normally stay elsewhere. The room is quite nice, but the bed felt old- a lot of give when you sit on it.
No iron and ironing board in the room- you had to go to reception to collect one. I never understand why hotels don't provide one in each room- The Lounge only has a few rooms, surely not an excessive cost to put.
I was in a room above the bar- not too noisy, but it depends how light a sleeper you are.
Breakfast was the real disappointment. There were about 15 of us arrived at the same time, and one person serving was not enough. Since I had to tell them the night before what time I wanted breakfast- so they could have predicted the havoc.
I never have a cooked breakfast, so normally have fruit and cereals. The fruit selection was really poor- a fruit bowl with some aged fruit.
The coffee machine was broken so the waitress had to run downstairs to the bar to get coffee when anyone wanted some, leading to her being really stretched to serve teas, toast, and anything else.
One of the strange aspects of the breakfast room is that there was only one bowl of sugar and one jug of milk at one end of the room- so if you wanted anything you had to squeeze past other tables to get it. Strange.
I don't think I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walshc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

lovely food tried many things havnt had a bad lunch yet staff freindlythe white wine delish fav food is beef in black bean sauce withe rice and sweet and sour chicken withe rice yummy very modern hotel havnt stayed just lunched when visiting penrith

Room Tip: havent stayed just lunched
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keekeeowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 10 in Penrith
844 reviews
0.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#8 of 10 in Penrith
424 reviews
1.3 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
0.4 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lounge Hotel and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lounge Hotel and Bar

Property: The Lounge Hotel and Bar
Address: Mitre House | King Street, Penrith CA11 7RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lounge Hotel and Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Lounge Hotel and Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lounge Hotel And Bar Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing