We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lounge Hotel and Bar
Ranked #23 of 61 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
glen
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here with family in November 2011. We stayed in the little self catering apartment within the hotel. Everything was clean, staff very friendly and breakfast was very nice. The bar downstairs in the hotel was excellent for yummy cocktails too!
Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    62
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
35
83
3
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We struggling to find the car park that was right in front of us (didn't notice the sign, just saw the Laser Wars building), and you had to walk down an alley to the front of the building. Check in was at the bar, which was a little busy by the time we had arrived, but got in and up to our room quick enough. Didn't have much dealings with staff, but the ones we did were friendly and pleasant. Room was clean, tidy, and quite large. All in all, it was an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

5 of us stayed here in August
Had the 3 bedroom apartment, clean and modern decor and comfortable beds.
Doesn't have any cooking facilities apart from a microwave although we were provided with a toaster on request.
They say that the room sleeps 8 with 2 on the sofa bed but the sofa would be hard to sleep on as you end up rolling into the middle.
8 people staying here with one shower would be difficult, might be fighting for bathroom time but there are 2 separate toilets. Nice hot shower though!!
wouldn't say that this was an apartment on account of the lack of cooking facilities more like a 3 bedroom suite that sleeps 6.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and the Hotel did everything they could to make our stay comfortable. that can make all the difference. The staff are great and the bar is a nicely decorated.

This hotel makes for a great base to explorer the area from. there is free parking available at the rear.
Penrith is an idyllic country town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kessr A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed there last weekend for the first time, and it won't be my last, the staff, the rooms ,the food , are all excellent and a credit to the owners who I met on arrival .
Ps
The cheese board is very very good !
John

Room Tip: Book well in advance !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I've stayed here twice now and can't say enough about the place. Fantastic rooms - that is to say, spacious, comfortable bed and pillows and excellent shower. Located centrally in Penrith it's perfect for my work trips. I also recommend the food but they are very large servings - if you're wondering try the Ploughmans... best to bring someone else to help you. But yes, I think this place deserves it's accolades.

Room Tip: I've been in room 3 both times - large and good location to downstairs and the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msnare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I had one night in the Lounge Hotel as I was attending the Lowther Game Fair. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. I loved the big shower. Breakfast was excellent, it was a proper full English breakfast that filled the plate with top quality bacon and local Cumberland sausage. Staff were friendly and very attentive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaMellorPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria england
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We visit here quite frequently the food is hit and miss yesterday i had the suppossed beef stir fry which consited of beef andmatybe 1/4 of a mushroom if that and a few pieces of onion... it was very dry and it looked all the same when served you had to dig deep to find the bits of mushrooms...........this is not a stir fry at all it was smothered with some kind of flavouring which didnt even touch my tastebuds nevermind tickle them. my friend had a baugette with chips with looked like a mix between frozen roast potatoes and we fair theyseem like wedges... this were tried once.... to be fair it semed like they had a delivery as we got there and i did notice later on people had chips that looked like chips.. we would ofpreffered to of waited for the proper ones.
dont have the fudge cake last timeit gave me the trotts....... within 5 mins of leaving i was dashing for the toilet... my friend and i had same dinner as me as was fine. all in all id say this place is hit and miss with food but the burgers are great just a shame about the chips.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THEJETSETTERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 10 in Penrith
860 reviews
0.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#8 of 10 in Penrith
425 reviews
1.3 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
3.4 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lounge Hotel and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lounge Hotel and Bar

Property: The Lounge Hotel and Bar
Address: Mitre House | King Street, Penrith CA11 7RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lounge Hotel and Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Lounge Hotel and Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lounge Hotel And Bar Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing