We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveler rating
132
73
29
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
73
29
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews busy bar homemade chips car park breakfast room booked a table boutique hotel well stocked bar nice room cooked breakfast nice breakfast evening meal double room lovely food fantastic stay one night stay well worth a visit apartment
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 250 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Great food , Nice surroundings , best thing to open in penrith for a long time , and for all ages !
Cant speak for the accomadation because I live localy !

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeT32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

The Lounge Hotel and Bar is a grand title for what is a basic B&B. On arriving you have to check in at the bar, not good and with little privacy. There is no lift, so if you have a heavy bag or you are just tired after along day or longer journey, tough luck. The rooms outshine the rest of the facilities, they are comfortable but a little noisey because you are above a pub and chlostrophobic as only a very small velux window in the sloping roof provides a natural light.....forget any view!
The staff are friendly but lacking the finer details with service, like lipstick on wine glasses. The breakfast is only served from 7am, which is far too late for business guests, and again lacks quality. In a very pretty market town they could really do alot better and use local produce.
I really did not enjoy my stay and could not recommend it to anyone else. They are very expensive for what you get in return.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with a proper window.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emonty1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Myself and my fellow business associates usually dine in places for the more discerning pallet ,however this little gem was most certainly a treat that we were not expecting . The food was in my oppinion the best i have had in town so far this year. The rooms and decor are kept up to date and the staff are most delightful . Well done to all the staff on their can do attitude and the none pretentious atmosphere they portray

Room Tip: all rooms in our group were all of the same high quality
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Booked the apartment for a visit to family in Penrith. It proved ideal giving that little bit of independence with the added bnus of a bar downstairs. Had breakfast which is excellent value for money at an extra £5 per person. All in all would definately return again. Good value and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayceeArgyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Came across this place by chance while passing through Penrith. It looked very warm and cosy inside so we decided to stop for something to eat, as it turned out a very good decision.
The staff couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. Our drinks arrived very quickly as we perused the food choices. We went for 4 of the larger meze dishes plus a bowl of chips. All arrived looking like pictures from an expensive cookery book and the tastes did not let them down. We couldn't believe the high standard of it all. I would particularly recommend the tempura king prawns with sweet chilli dip. They were huge and probably the best I have ever tasted.
We rounded our meal off with espresso coffees strong enough to keep you going for a week(makes such a nice change!!), made even more yummy by the little piece of mint fudge with it.
So all of this plus 4 soft drinks for under £30, unbelievable!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ANITA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews