We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ever”
Review of Albany House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albany House
Ranked #11 of 67 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best ever”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We found the room and facilities meticulously clean with lots of little extras and attention to detail not encountered elsewhere. Lovely and quiet and a perfect location.
The dining room so elegant and the best breakfast we have had.
To top it all off the proprietors were so friendly and helpful - if we ever return to the UK from Australia, we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    16
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
80
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Its in a great location in town, very central but quiet everything u need close by. Very family friendly. It was immaculate..... Very nicely decorated up to date, modern fresh interior. We stayed in the family room which was very spacious with en-suite very relaxing and comfortable. Food was just Fantastic. ( good selection of cereal and fresh fruit). Owners were very friendly and made us welcome. This bed and breakfast was very accomadating as i noticed a few cyclists were checking in as we left and were able to store their bikes. :-)
No complaints definately the place to stay if you are in the area. Highly recommend visiting, it was lovely!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weekimmiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Albany guest house is a brilliant location and an ok place to stay for the weekend. It is in a central location, yet in a nice quiet place, and is suitable for a weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingersweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed at Albany House for one night when travelling up to Scotland and found it good value for the money. Couldn't find anything to complain about. The room and the bathroom were very tastefully fitted out. The breakfast was exceptionally good. We would definitely use it again when passing through. There is on street parking but we were given free parking discs for the morning so that there was nothing to pay. All in all a super little b and b to use when travelling.

Room Tip: The room at the front on the road was a little noisy but not enough to worry us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justoneluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Great B&B centrally located next to everything. Beautifully kept and presented. had a fantastic sleep on the beautiful bed. Breakfast was great....best eggs ever :) Thank you

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snapper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

7 of us stayed here on friday 1st july .
wonderful place to stay . i see that one review had bad words about bikes, and luggage not being welcome . Well ours was the bags where in our rooms and the bikes locked up for us by the onwer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redstaraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

A friendly and helpful welcome which got even better over the three days. Run by people who take a great deal of care in all aspects - spotlessly clean, excellent breakfasts, good shower/ensuit, a comfortable bed, helpful advice and conversation. Making it look easy is the sign of true professionals

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 11 in Penrith
883 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
440 reviews
0.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#35 of 67 in Penrith
64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abbey House
Abbey House
#39 of 67 in Penrith
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany House

Property: Albany House
Address: 5 Portland Place, Penrith CA11 7QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Albany House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albany House is a 4 Gold Star guest house situated conveniently in the centre of Penrith.We provide stylish and comfortable rooms and an award winning breakfast.We are just 5 mins from J40 of M6 and A66,and only 5 miles from Lake Ullswater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Albany House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany House Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing