We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stop over”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of No 15 Cafe - CLOSED

No 15 Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Lovely place to stop over”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Lovely food especially for vegetarians. It was a real treat to stop here on a long drive back up to Glasgow.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    30
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I really thought this was great to start with, but its no longer based on last two visits?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

This is my second review of this cafe- we loved coming here two years ago, but things have changed in a negative way. Today the service was awful. The waiter seemed to balls everything up. He didn't have a clue. For example he brought out trays of food to wrong tables around us several times, brought such a small amount of butter, we had to immediately ask for more. We ordered olives- they came in chilli oil- lovely but not warning us meant our young daughter wouldn't touch them. She normally loves them. He got drinks wrong etc etc.
We asked for food from kids menu and asked for some veg with her sausage beans. Any would do. The waiter came back to say they can't do veg. I was surprised as not a small place and has a chef and it can't be that unusual request. Dishes contain veg etc. bizarre! Just want my child to have some goodness in her food. Plenty of kids/babies there and even have loads of books and toys. The waiter clearly had no common sense and he kept coming back with suggestions which were not cooked veg, then eventually gave us raw carrot offer- I said we'd like it boiled and then it would be perfect- didn't come and waiter getting stressed being bounced back and forth between us and awkward and perhaps unwise/stubborn chef.
There were some lovely staff who seem to have left especially this really lovely mature lady, who was very good with people esp kids and friendly and knew what customers wanted and needed - the opposite of some of the young waiting staff, who would be better washing up frankly as every single transaction with ourselves made us feel annoyed eventually.
The menu had run out quite a few dishes. The chilli dish used to be amazing and this has gone down the pan in quality. The koftas were dry. The Guinness cake lovely, but getting it with a ball of ice cream was a mission and a half. It's not unusual to have cream or icecream with a desert. I began to feel like they thought I was an awkward customer. Will give one more chance unless they work out who did this review! May think about trying somewhere else next time we are over here. Not giving up just yet and perhaps I am being harsh.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zzzzzless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“10 out of 10 for No 15”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had a light snack here recently during a 90-minute stop at Penrith, on the way down the M6 to Lancashire. It is worth nipping off J40 of the M6, parking in the large Car Park at the other end of the town and stretching the legs as you walk down the High Street to No 15.
Service was very good and the coffees and sandwiches ordered were really delicious. There is a funky atmosphere in the Cafe with lively CDs being played and some interesting art on the wall. Locals seem to use the Cafe at all times of the day.
Worth popping in.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimBlandings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“many enjoyable meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

enjoy this cafe, varied food and good staff. Have rated there many times and have not been disappointed

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MidlifeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Service was slow, but worth the wait.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Cafe 15 is a little gem in Penrith. Would never have discovered it if we didn't walk down to the John Norris shop to check out fly fishing equipment. If you are a sportsman or woman, this is a must to visit!

http://www.johnnorris.co.uk/

We were hungry and saw No 15 Cafe across the way. We were delighted to find a warm and welcoming spot with delicious food. Service is definitely slow, but it was worth it, every bite of it. Great coffee and an eclectic selection of entree choices whether you want something light, something sweet with your tea or coffee or a more substantial meal. If you are in the area, this is well worth stopping for.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Konstandena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No 15 Cafe also viewed

 
Pooley Bridge, Penrith
 
Pooley Bridge, Penrith
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing