We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little gem!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Agricultural Hotel Restaurant

The Agricultural Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #70 of 159 Restaurants in Penrith
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
UNITED KINGDOM
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great little gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This is where all the locals go and let me tell you - the doors was awesome! The menu is large and varied, three of us had veggie lasagne, meat lasagne and a chicken Kiev. The portions were decent sized and very good value for money. The food was delicious and hearty, just what we needed on a cold day. The restaurant was packed - which tells me it's extremely well liked.

They have a variety of excellent ales and wines and the bar ladies are happy to help make a selection.

Make sure you drop a small donation at the bar for Heva's charity run (the publican's daughter) - there's a massive donation bottle at the bar which is half full so she's doing we'll in her collection! Every little counts though so please be generous! The publican was extremely grateful for any donations and his lovely smile was well worth the money.

In short - excellent food, good atmosphere and excellent service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank piggiepenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    62
    23
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in the hotel & thought we might as well eat there. The food was hot and delicious.The service was quick and very friendly. The portions, large and satisfying. We will definitely return here if we're in the area

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank songster58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Traditional pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Had my first meal here. Was quite busy but got a table in the bar area which we preferred over the darker, raised seating area. Time from ordering until the meal arrived was acceptable. The meals are what some would call 'proper pub grub'. The staff were friendly and the price was very good. Would definitely have a meal there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CustomerReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good grub, good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had the home made steak and ale pie which was excellent with the sticky toffee pudding for dessert. Good service and good price.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Agricultural”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

A very nice restaurant in Penrith, easy to access. Food and service solid. I requested a few little changes to my meal and they were more than happy to accomodate my requests.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peace_Parrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Agricultural Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Carlisle, Cumbria
Penrith, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to The Agricultural Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing