We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch Break en route to Scotland”

The Agricultural Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #70 of 160 Restaurants in Penrith
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Marrakech
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lunch Break en route to Scotland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were en route from The MIdlands to Glasgow for the weekend and we were looking for a lunch stop. We came off the M6 at J40 and drove a couple of miles before we came across the Agricultural Hotel
A pub split into two halves: a good bar area and a restaurant area
Good bar meal selection served by friendly staff. There was a good selection of real ales along with lagers

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarrakechMorganman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    63
    24
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service, not so great food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife, daughter and I had chosen to eat here after reading the many reviews on trip advisor, many of which had promised the best food in Penrith. Unfortunately it did not deliver. The plus points were the service staff, who were very friendly, efficient and helpful and the prices which were very reasonable. The food however failed to reach expectations after all of the good reviews I had read. I opted for the steak and ale pie and my wife, the sirloin. The steak pie was in fact stewed steak with a separate pie crust. The meat was dry and a little tough. The mashed potato accompaniment heavily over seasoned and the veg medley over cooked to the point of almost becoming mush. My wife's steak was cooked to a perfect medium rare, but she too had the mushed veg and salty mash. All in all, the meal filled a hole but never put a smile on our faces.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Even a gluten free menu - impressed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Food lovely, I had the duck. Chips not 'real' (not chipped from a potato on the premises). So impressed that they had a gluten free menu which included a passion fruit cheesecake (not homemade) that was very good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SpinachPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great quality food at realistic prices. Lamb is something to write home about and steak pie is spot on. Good selection of quality beers and larger. Suggest you rbook on a weekend if you want to be in restaurant, however, same great food served in the bar. Good menu and extensive specials board-if in Penrith, give it a go!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmboDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A great evening.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Came here for a meal with my hubby. Pleasant greeting when we arrived. Loved the roaring coal fire gave it a cosy feel on a freezing cold night. Good choice of food. Waitress was very polite and friendly. Garlic mushrooms were best ive ever had, gammon very nice. Huge portions! no room for dessert this time lol. Overall a great place if your looking for a nice relaxing evening with good food. Will be back soon :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maugh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Agricultural Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
Carlisle, Cumbria
 
Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to The Agricultural Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing