We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and friendly”
Review of Acorn Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Acorn Guest House
Ranked #19 of 66 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed here for 2 weeks and couldn't have felt more at home.
Karen and Nick are great hosts and go above and beyond to make your stay as comfortable and stress free as they can. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
Truly lovely people.
Great breakfasts and the rooms are spacious and clean. I had a room at the front and I am a very light sleeper, but there was no noise and I slept very well.

A real gem of a place :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bay-Pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 150 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here Monday-Friday for three weeks.
The room was very spacious, comfortable and clean.
The new owners Nick and Karen were welcoming and friendly and could not have done more to help.
The parking was adequate, and although situated on a road and in a room at the front of the house I was not aware of any traffic noise when trying to sleep (a combination of thick walls to the front, good double glazing and reduced traffic over night!)
The bathroom was lovely- the shower had plenty of gusto and unlimited hot water.
The food was great- breakfast personalised and made to order using good quality produce, and always served with a smile.
I would recommend this guest house to families, couples or single people whether working or there for pleasure! :-)

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank Localgirl1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I had a two night stay with new owners Nick & Karen at the beginning of December. I could not have been made more welcome. The hotel is everything you need in a B&B they even provided an evening meal and a beer. The room was cosy, warm, well furnished and comfortable with a spacious ensuite. The breakfast was plentiful and sourced locally wherever possible. There is plenty of free parking and my stay represented excellent value for money.
I would definitely stay here again and would recommend Acorn Guest House to anybody visiting Penrith

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Beaker2135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have been 'living' here for a period of 8 weeks whilst being away with work. As the title suggests it was a home from home. Joyce and Anita were amazing, they made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much hassle.
The rooms are great, very well kept and a high standard. The breakfast was excellent; I managed to resist the temptation of a full English, but no matter what cooked breakfast I asked for Joyce and Anita were able to sort without issue.
After living there for 2 months I was sad to leave, it felt like we were leaving family behind. I've never spent such a long time in a B&B, I'm glad that Joyce and Anita were there to make it such an enjoyable experience!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Rescueme999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Recently stayed here with my Mum & Niece the night before my wedding, i must say after a week of no sleep due to nerves i slept extremely well in the comfortable bed, as did my mum & niece, the room was lovely and clean, very warm welcome & breakfast the next morning was brilliant, we were also treated to a lovely bottle of champagne to celebrate my special day, all round 5 star stay for us!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here at the end of July 2013 for two nights. Our self contained room was nice and clean, as was the rest of the premises. Joyce and Anita were lovely and welcoming and they served a delicious full English breakfast. We would not hesitate to recommend this wonderful guest house.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMSquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our Scottish team stayed at the Acorn during a company charity event which involved cycling 258 miles in 26 hours over two days (they cycled from Glasgow to Manchester).

The Acorn’s warmth, hospitality and friendliness made all the difference to the team, who had cycled nearly 111 miles before reaching the hotel that day, and everyone who stayed over said that the place was great, the meal good and the service outstanding - so very well done.

Room Tip: We called the Hotel in advance of the booking for some local information on best restaurants to eat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
1.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
463 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lounge Hotel and Bar
The Lounge Hotel and Bar
#29 of 66 in Penrith
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Rebels Hide
The Rebels Hide
#3 of 3 in Clifton
46 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
426 reviews
6 mi away
The Black Swan Inn Culgaith
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Guest House

Address: Scotland Road, Penrith CA11 9HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range: $107 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Acorn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Guest House Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing