We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay for C2C”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Swallow Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 65 Penrith B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here on the first night of our C2C ride. The owners were pleasant and welcoming, and the room was to a very high standard for a guest house. Breakfast was excellent. It isn't 5* boutique, but it completely surpassed our expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 97 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night on the 11th August. The room was lovely and clean, the owners were very helpful and chatty, a lovely couple! The breakfast was superb, juicy fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and a tasty freshly cooked full English! We will definitelyreturn here when we're in the area. Well done!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazelkendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I was in the Lake District for the Kendal Calling festival and decided to stay at the Blue Swallow rather than camp at the site. I made the right decision. It was the first time I'd stayed in Penrith and found the hosts to be extremely welcoming. They let me check in early and helped me sort out travel arrangements with one of the local taxi firms for traveling to and from the site. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable. A very nice freshly cooked breakfast was on offer (if you want one), and there was also cereal, juice and fruit available. Throughout my stay the service from the hosts was first class. They have created a warm, friendly environment and the guesthouse itself is immaculate. I would recommend the Blue Swallow to anyone and would definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Because of the long distance from Wales to Scotland, we decided to break out trip and spend the night in Penrith. The Blue Swallow had no problems accepting us for a single night nor did they require a deposit. We were surprised how easy it was to find the place and managed to find a car park virtually in front of the guest house. Peter and Cythia welcomed us and showed us to our rooms, which were a good size, comfortable and clean. They provided us with a parking permit for the car. The centre of town was only a short walk away and while it does not have a lot of sights to see, it does have several restaurants and pubs. Breakfast was extremely good and thoroughly enjoyable. All in all, a good one night stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyNomadAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

You couldn't ask for more from the hosts, pleasant, accommodating and genuine. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well appointed. Breakfast was just what the doctor ordered, not too much and not too little with additional offered and declined! Recommended to anyone. Many thanks and see you in November!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manxstaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stopped in for one night on our way to Scotland and were delighted with what we found. Although the owners were not there when we arrived, after a phone call they arrived within 15 minutes and promptly checked us in and showed us to our room. The room was lovely and comfortable, very clean with a small but adequate bathroom. The owners were friendly, happy to give advice and directions and provided a really lovely breakfast the next day. Definitely would recommend this B & B!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theroberts_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Arrived on a cold november evening after a long drive. Made to feel very welcome and were shown to our room promptly on arrival. Booked a double room and we were given a room with a double and a single bed which had a pull out bed underneath it so they would be able to accommodate families. Although situated on the main road into Penrith from the M6 we thought the traffic may be a problem but after 6pm we heard nothing. Breakfast was cooked to order with fresh made toast and a delightful selection of home made jam and marmalade. Will defineatly return when in the area. The B&B was also very quiet as there was only the two of us for breakfast in the morning as the other guests had already checked out by the time we went down for it .

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grundster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
6.2 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
434 reviews
0.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
3 mi away
The Ginney Country Guest House & Holiday Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Temple Sowerby
231 reviews
2.2 mi away
Queen's Head Inn
Queen's Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Tirril
157 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Black Swan Inn Culgaith
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Swallow Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Swallow Guesthouse

Address: 11 Victoria Road, Penrith CA11 8HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range: $81 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Swallow Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Swallow Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Swallow Guesthouse Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing