We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to relax”
Review of Lowthwaite B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lowthwaite B & B
Ranked #3 of 61 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A perfect place to relax”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have now returned from our eighth visit to Lowthwaite! My husband and I had a fabulous weekend with our son and nearly 4 year old granddaughter. Nothing was too much trouble for Jim and Tine. Jim was a mine of information on the best places to take a 4 year old to paddle, and Tine was very accommodating in leaving a tea time sandwich in the fridge for our granddaughter, who can be difficult to please regarding food. The range of choices at breakfast was incredible, but our granddaughter especially liked blueberries and maple syrup (normally served with pancakes, but happily served on their own at special request!).
Sitting outside in the evening was a treat, as was observing the night sky (we had taken a telescope, in the knowledge that the Lake District is not affected by the light pollution that blights our cities). We feel refreshed and relaxed, and eagerly look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are delightful. The two upstairs rooms work very well as a family unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
93
200
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night, wish it was longer. A lovely welcome from Tine after we found the B&B. Super garden room, we loved watching the finches and a woodpecker at the bird feeder just feet from our window. The breakfast was superb and enjoyable. We will definitely stay again as we think we have found a gem.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
166 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having just returned from a trip to Skye and the west coast of Scotland we stayed in 7 B & B's and this one out shon all the rest by far.We arrived to find home made muffins in our room and a selection of teas and coffee which after a long journey were very welcome . We had arranged to have dinner there on our first evening which was also really good but if you opt for this option if available take your own wine as suggested..
The breakfasts are something else home made bread jam granola stewed fruits not to mention a selection of cooked food as well. Just perfect.
Also worth mentioning the products in the bathroom are all locally sourced and I'm just sad I did not buy any as they are available to purchase there
Tine and Jim are a charming couple and nothing seems too much trouble. We will definitely return and enjoy some more time in the Lake District

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SprogLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have tried to get to the Lowthwaite B&B for 3 years, finally we made it and it was worth the wait. Jim and Tine really do know how to look after their guests. We were made to feel at home in a lovely peaceful setting, extremely well fed on home cooked food and Jim and Tine were such interesting and genuinely friendly people to chat to. We shall return without hesitation.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden room which was delightful, especially when we were able to watch the woodpec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turnerat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

An absolutely wonderful B&B with a fantastic breakfast! Tine and Jim are so friendly, and chatted to us every morning during breakfast to find out what our plans were for the day, to offer us tips or suggestions. Everything on the breakfast bar is homemade, including the jams and bread. The cooked options are also delicious. The rooms are beautifully designed with a slight African theme running throughout, and all the facilities very modern.
The location is very rural and peaceful. The only thing I would say is that if you were travelling without a car it could be a bit difficult to get out and about, depending on what you like to do.
I loved this place and would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
343 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Don't use the post code with your TomTom to find the B&B or you'll get lost like us. The B&B is on Google maps.
Very nice, helpful hosts. We had dinner here which was restful after a long drive (dinner is available once or twice a week, book in advance) & the breakfasts have some unusual options. The homemade bread was superb.
My husband liked the B&B more than I did. I found it a bit claustrophobic, tucked away in the vegetation with dark ethnic furniture but the very things I didn't like would have been plus points to many.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinstonSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I loved this place and agree with all other reviews here. We spent four nights here recently and will definitely be coming back with our young daughter and her brother/sister, due in November. The location is perfect - 15 mins from Penrith and the M6 but in a completely rural location which feels quite remote - exactly what we wanted. We spent three days driving and walking our way around the Lakes and were easily able to access Derwent Water, Windermere, Buttermere Lakes and call not Keswick, Ambleside and a whole host of other delightful small towns and villages.

The breakfasts are fantastic. An amazing choice each morning, including homemade bread, blueberry pancakes, full English, salmon and eggs etc. freshly baked fruit muffins were available each day and we enjoyed these during some lovely lake/forest walks each day.
Our room was spacious and comfortable and clean and extremely relaxing.

Jim and Tine are excellent hosts; we almost felt we were staying with friends rather than as paying guests.

Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
1.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
6.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowthwaite B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowthwaite B & B

Property: Lowthwaite B & B
Address: Lowthwaite Lowthwaite Lowthwaite, Penrith CA11 0LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old newly renovated farmhouse in peaceful valley close to Ullswater with views of Helvellyn and Blencathra. Walks from the door and route descriptions available. Delicious homecooked, mostly organic food, distinctive furniture and beautiful decoration, organic and local toiletries, stylish en-suite bathrooms, use of gardens, Nothing too much trouble. Children all ages welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lowthwaite B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowthwaite B & B Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing