We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an absolute gem”
Review of Lowthwaite B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lowthwaite B & B
Ranked #3 of 65 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We loved this beautiful home. Jim and tine are wonderful hosts, interesting and very helpful and informative. We stayed in the garden room which has a private little couryard surrounded by lush gardens just outside your bedroom door. Loved the location and the fact that it was not in town. Its just a short drive to nice pubs and restaurants. Breakfast was amazing, with lots of extras and a choice of about five different cooked breakfasts. Such a nice change. Highly recommended

Room Tip: All look great, but loved our garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jumbalumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 391 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

Not far from the M6 Junction 40 at Penrith, this converted farmstead B&B was our choice for an overnight stay on our way from Aberdeen to Bath. We wish we had stayed longer! Secluded up a lane near Little Mell Fell, the location is idyllic. We regretted that we were only able to take a short walk before enjoying one of the delicious dinners that are offered to guests on certain evenings. It would be well worth planning your stay to take advantage. Other guests were more prepared than we, having brought their own wine. Our room was spacious and fully modernized. Breakfast was an event with offerings of granola, muesli, yogurt, and fruits as well as a hot dish. Perhaps the best part was talking with the other guests about all the birds visiting the feeders just outside the window. We can see why there are many returning guests who make this B&B their base in the Lake District.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougtaylor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Location: sufficiently remote to feel like you've escaped the stresses of life yet close to Keswick/Penrith, pubs and fab walks.

Accommodation: Converted farm building has loads of character and charm, rooms have beautiful chunky furniture, big bath, powerful showers.

Food: This is where Lowthwaite really stands out from other B&B's and hotels. High quality, healthy ingredients used to create an ever changing array of scrummy breakfast treats.

Owners: Jim and Tine bend over backwards to cater for their guests. Jim could open a tourist information center here and being a passionate walker himself is able to give really useful guidance on walks to help you make the most of the weather.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Lowthwaite was one of the best b&b experiences I have had to date. We were warmly welcomed by Jim who took us to our upstairs room and explained how everything worked. Had initially thought that we would go out in the evening but we were so comfortable in the room that we happily stayed put. The bed was excellent and had a good night's sleep. In the morning we had an amazing breakfast of Tine's toasted granola, homemade bread and jams as well as wonderfully buttery organic eggs (easily the best I had all week in the Lake District). Jim was incredibly helpful and knowledgable about the region. He even suggested we could keep our room longer to watch a DVD he recommended! Having travelled a lot themselves makes them understand what it means to be good hosts. They put a lot of energy and enthusiasm into our stay and it was all the more appreciated as it was for just one night. Only regrets, as others have mentioned, is that we didn't stay longer or try an evening meal.

Room Tip: The two top-floor rooms are more private. There may, however, be a little noise from the bedroom ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sobakasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a wonderful B&B in a stunning location, run by people who really care. Tine made us feel welcome from the start (even though I managed to get mud on the beautiful cream carpet within about 5 minutes - cringe!) and nothing was too much trouble, whether it was advice on where to walk on a rainy day or letting us use her landline to ring the local taxi company.

The beds are comfortable, the rooms are spotless, the breakfasts are absolutely delicious (I have never seen fluffier American pancakes!) and we loved watching the wildlife at the bird feeder from the breakfast table - voles, pheasants and lots of lovely garden birds. We'll be back and will definitely be eating dinner there next time - it smelled divine!

Room Tip: We stayed in Blencathra, which was on two levels and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryJq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We will surely go back to this wonderful B&B someday. It was excellent in every way - Spacious, comfortable rooms with the most amazing furniture made from old boats and shipped from Africa, interesting decor, clean rooms, comfortable beds, etc. The breakfast with lots of homemade breads, granola, fruits, and many choices for cooked meals was wonderful. We enjoyed talking about Tanzania and the owners experiences and travels and knowledge. We really appreciated the suggestions on things to see in the area. We even had a colorful pheasant outside our door in the garden room. This is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanePhiladelphia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The atmosphere was lovely, the location stunning, the room most cozy, the food delicious, the tips and maps I got invaluable. The walks were brilliant, and just what I longed for. And had the weather been worse, I would have had another cup of tea in my room, in the armchair in the window upstairs, and be happy too. It is a wonderful place Tine and Jim make.

Room Tip: I stayed in Blencathra room, which can serve both as twin and as double. It is two leveled and has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
2.1 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
2.7 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
419 reviews
6.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,701 reviews
14.5 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
3.6 mi away
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
#1 of 7 in Pooley Bridge
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowthwaite B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowthwaite B & B

Address: Lowthwaite Lowthwaite Lowthwaite, Penrith CA11 0LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range: $116 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old newly renovated farmhouse in peaceful valley close to Ullswater with views of Helvellyn and Blencathra. Walks from the door and route descriptions available. Delicious homecooked, mostly organic food, distinctive furniture and beautiful decoration, organic and local toiletries, stylish en-suite bathrooms, use of gardens, Nothing too much trouble. Children all ages welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lowthwaite B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowthwaite B & B Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing