We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Lowthwaite B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lowthwaite B&B
Ranked #4 of 66 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Excellent accommodation; lovely quiet location, but not too far from main road; very friendly owners with good suggestions on how to spend ones day; brilliant breakfast not confined to the usual options. Will return if holidaying in the area again

Room Tip: go for the first floor for best views and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReeceForfar_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 397 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed whilst working in Penrith. I was met with a very friendly welcome by Tine. I stayed in the Helvellyn room which had great views of the hills and the many birds feeding just below the window. The room was warm, spotless and well equipped with very comfortable beds. Breakfast was lovely, a great selection of home made things to eat, the granola and home made bread were excellent. I had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and will be back although next time for pleasure rather tan business. Thank you Jim and Tine.

Room Tip: The views from the Helvellyn room when you open the curtains in a morning set you up for the day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I planned a surprise party for my husband to celebrate his 50th birthday with some close friends. Tine and Jim provided a wonderful service and could not have gone to more trouble for us. They helped us make the weekend a turely memorable one. We enjoyed a delicious freshly baked birthday cake and an evening dinner party in the cosy and comfortable dining room. Having stayed here before, we knew the rooms would be spacious, comfortable and stylish and Tines breakfast is about the best I have had anywhere with respect to both variety and quality - we did a four hour walk to burn it off! We will definitely be back - but we won't wait untill another big occassion for a reason to return! We thank Tine and Jim (and their daughters!) for making the occassion so special.
Paula T

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely. We stayed in Matterdale and our friends in the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulatims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Absolutely perfect in every way. Wonderful location, building, welcome, room, muffins, breakfast, information.... Just everything. Would highly recommend this for a short stay in the wonderful north Lakes.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillypost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay: the hosts are naturally friendly and welcoming without fussing, the rooms and bathrooms comfortable and clean, and the breakfasts excellent (an extensive buffet and/or various hot breakfasts, including plenty for vegetarians). There are ready maps and recommendations for seeing, walking and eating, plus parking opposite the house and wifi should you need it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonimnyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in February - snow storms did nothing to spoil a lovely break in comfortable, welcoming B&B. Excellent food, accommodation, and very helpful hosts. Watching the wild birds from breakfast window was lovely. Couldn' t ask for more. Recommend walk down to Aira Force. Look forward to returning.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamaj306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This B and B is stunning in setting, decor, food and welcolme. Its position in a remote and beautiful part of the Lakes makes it very special. Everything is carefully thought through to ensure a memorable stay and the Tanzanian furniture and artefacts are both unusual and tasteful. The evening meal was superb and very reasonably priced and the breakfast offered a wide and imaginative choice. Jim and Tine are excellent hosts-always ready to chat and advise on walks and rotes, but never intrusive. I stayed in the Helvellyn room and was rewarded with an amazing view of the snow-covered mountain. The only drawback-and not our hosts' fault-was that I had a badly-behaved child in the next room and I could hear every word as she shouted, screamed and, at 7.30 in the morning, sang at the top of her voice!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, generously spacious-and very individual-but sound travelled from the one n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
7.7 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
3.6 mi away
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
#1 of 7 in Pooley Bridge
382 reviews
13.1 mi away
Nanny Brow
Nanny Brow
#12 of 102 in Ambleside
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ullswater Guest House
Ullswater Guest House
#2 of 7 in Pooley Bridge
190 reviews
12.7 mi away
Laurel House
Laurel House
#1 of 2 in Culgaith
208 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowthwaite B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowthwaite B&B

Address: | Lowthwaite, Matterdale, Penrith CA11 0LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range: $98 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old newly renovated farmhouse in peaceful valley close to Ullswater with views of Helvellyn and Blencathra. Walks from the door and route descriptions available. Delicious homecooked, mostly organic food, distinctive furniture and beautiful decoration, organic and local toiletries, stylish en-suite bathrooms, use of gardens, Nothing too much trouble. Children all ages welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lowthwaite B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowthwaite B&B Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing