We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hamlet Hideaway!”
Review of Lowthwaite B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lowthwaite B & B
Ranked #4 of 61 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Hamlet Hideaway!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Excellent bed and breakfast, well located to explore the northern lakes. The food was amazing and the hosts excellent, providing great advice on walks and places to eat. The little extras made it extra special!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannyboy0797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
93
200
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

A return visit with two growing children. Brilliantly looked acre in every way, more like staying with friends.
Pancakes with bacon & maple syrup! Get in!
Comfortable rooms with all the stuff you need, and not stuff you don't.
Another return likely

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank climbdg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We've just spent a quiet romantic weekend at the Lowthwaite and couldn't wait to let everyone know what a fabulous place this is. I booked through Go Lakes and you can imagine the choice that your faced with but i'm so glad that i managed to get in here. Hosts Jim & Tine couldnt be more helpful or polite. They went to the trouble of having chilled champagne ready for us on arrival for my partners birthday surprise. And the lovely touch of homemade muffins to compliment our tipple. We stayed in the Blencathra room, which is a two storey tractor shed conversion. The room hosts beautiful furniture, stunning views, cosy romantic lighting and a huge fabulous bath. The bedding and gorgeous soft bathrobes were also a lovely touch. There has been no expense spared here at all. Everything is top quality and carefully sourced. We had dinner at the Troutbeck which was recommended by Jim & Tine and the food was excellent and reasonably priced. After a great sleep we enjoyed a fantastic breakfast with lots of homemade extra's and could have slept again for hours after such a hearty feast. All in all, this is a fantastic little hidden jem. We would recommend it to anyone looking for a 5star treat at an unbelievably good price. We would definately return. Thanks again Jim, Tine and the girls xx

Room Tip: Blencathra, Quiet and private two storey room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotlasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

In the middle of what seemed like nowhere this was a little hidden gem. Although remote was only 10 mins from civilisation. You can never really tell when you book a B&B what it will be like, might look great in the pictures then smell of fish!!!!!!! But this cosy haven would be at the very top of my must revisit list. Things we particularly liked were, home made bread, great bath (so often just a shower these days) and local products. Jim & Tina were very informative on walks and the local area, where to eat etc. We stayed two nights in the Garden Room, ground floor overlooking well visited bird feeders and couldn't find fault with anything. Top Job *****

Room Tip: Garden room nice bath and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youlgreave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Wonderful food, wonderful welcome, comfortable beds. Very welcoming family home in an unspoilt area of the lakes. The breakfast was better than any 4 star hotel I've ever stayed in, we'll definitely book dinner next time we come as the pub in Dochrey wasn't up to much really and Tine's cooking is wonderful.

Room Tip: We had a twin (as a double) with bathroom and sitting area upstairs. Would probably go for a more tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffron14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Once again we found the b&b at Lowthwaite a great place to stay. We stayed for 6 nights and found our hosts and their hospitality second to none. Nothing was too much trouble and they even helped us to organise a couple of walks. The food as always was excellent and the Garden room was very comfortable and very handy for watching the wildlife, we actually saw the red squirrels this time.My wife and I would recommend Lowthwaite to anyone who wants a peacful relaxing break in the lake district.

Room Tip: Garden room has it'sown private patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fellman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Having sampled Tine & Jim's hospitality for the first time in August 2012 we did not want to leave. We would say it is the best B&B we have ever experienced. (Just keep it to yourself or everyone will want to sample it!)
The setting in the valley is so peaceful and relaxing - a haven for birds, rabbits and red squirrels. The house, our room, Tine's fabulous food and the hospitality were excellent. Jim and Tine's willingness to impart their local knowledge to help their visitors get the best out of the District is second to none. We were made to feel like part of the family and we will be back with them as soon as we can in 2013. Many thanks to you both.
Pam and Frank

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
1.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
6.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowthwaite B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowthwaite B & B

Property: Lowthwaite B & B
Address: Lowthwaite Lowthwaite Lowthwaite, Penrith CA11 0LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old newly renovated farmhouse in peaceful valley close to Ullswater with views of Helvellyn and Blencathra. Walks from the door and route descriptions available. Delicious homecooked, mostly organic food, distinctive furniture and beautiful decoration, organic and local toiletries, stylish en-suite bathrooms, use of gardens, Nothing too much trouble. Children all ages welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lowthwaite B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowthwaite B & B Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing