We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant enough place”
Review of Troutbeck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Troutbeck Inn
Ranked #19 of 61 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A pleasant enough place”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I had stayed here twenty years ago was keen to return for old times sake and a small family reunion. We all enoyed the bar with a pleasant outdoor area adjacent to an ample carpark.

Dinner for seven was taken in the bar area by our choosing and was efficiently served and presented. We later moved to the dining room for after dinner drinks and thoroughly enjoyed a long wind down.

The rooms were perfectly acceptable and the breakfast well worth taking.

All the staff were courteous and pleasant assisting with our seven year old daughter without complaint.

I recommend the Troutbeck Inn, convenient as it is from the M6 and a gateway to the Lakes

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueDenym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    81
    20
    13
    19
See reviews for
60
152
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We two adults and two small children stopped at this place yesterday, stepped out cold and hungry and desperate for some food. Whoops, we were seven minutes late, lunch had stopped being served at two, and we were treated as if we were lunatics for even asking for sustenance at such an hour.

Fair enough if the chef had left at 2, but surely someone on the premises could have knocked up a sandwich or some soup? We had money, and the place was empty otherwise.

The thoroughly off-hand barman seemed to think we were crazy for asking if there were any cakes or biscuits we could eat with our coffee, and was annoyed that we were sitting at the club chairs in the restaurant (in front of a lovely roaring fire) rather than in his colder bar area.

While we were there, some walkers came in and were given similar short shrift, including being moved away from the fire as well, but they soon returned and we all had a bit of a laugh at the customer service. The barman might have been French, but he was Basil Fawlty to a tee.

Coffee was lovely, though, and did come with a tiny biscuit that we could give to our hungry kids. We had a nice pub lunch up the road at The Sportsmans and rather wish we hadn't wasted our time in Troutbeck.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Booked for one night which was great especially at weekends. We also booked ahead of time for an evening meal. Great choice and beautiful food, main courses were abit pricey but as a treat it was fine. The rooms could do with updating but having said that they had everything that you could need. The breakfast was possibly the best full english we've had so far. You don't see much of the owner other than booking in and while eating but some people don't like people hanging around. Room 4 was at the back and didn't have a very nice view and you could hear the road especially as the night we stayed it was hot and the window was open all night!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenperkins5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2012

For anyone planning a trip to the north Lakes this is an excellent small hotel. Very efficiently run, excellent food, comfortable rooms and friendly helpful service. Would certainly return there when in the area.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor overlooking the road but it is so quiet it made no difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Having stayed three times over the last few months, each time for two or more nights, I would highly recommend the Troutbeck Inn. I found the rooms (each different in character) clean, warm, and (for an inn) well provisioned and comfortable; the service was always friendly, courteous and attentive, and; the food was excellent and freshly prepared from quality ingredients (I breakfasted there every day dined there most evenings). The lounge bar, with its settles, leather chairs and open fire, was particularly welcoming after a hard day on the fells!

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank gj-sloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and i have been going to troutbeck for around 3 years our stay has always been warm and accommodation and food excellent also our dog has been made welcome as well recommend this inn to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Una F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2012

my husband i and our dogs had a great stay at the inn very friendly great food and lovely room we were so pleased with our stay we are going to stay in one of the cottages in june cant wait would tell anyone to try the inn

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
8.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
7.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
8.0 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
11.4 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Troutbeck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troutbeck Inn

Property: Troutbeck Inn
Address: 5091 On the a, Penrith CA11 0SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Troutbeck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troutbeck Hotel Penrith
Troutbeck Inn Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing