We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Tynedale Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tynedale Guest House
Ranked #13 of 61 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here following the first day of the coast to coast, we were greeted with a warm welcome, the rooms were of a good standard and the breakfast was full of flavour. To help us on our way we were each given a piece of the nicest home made flapjack you will ever come across. For those cycling there issue ure storage for the bikes. First class

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AnotherGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marguerite1956, Owner at Tynedale Guest House, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Your comment is much appreciated, Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
21
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

As has been said the owners are very welcoming, great breakfast and the traditional homemade flapjacks to go.

We were a group accommodated in three rooms and as can be expected in B&B's facilities are located on various levels i.e. our toilet and shower were on the floor below our bedroom.

The only negative was the WIFI code which is a long mixture of capital letters and numbers. Some managed to connect with keyboards but connection with an iPad proved to be frustratingly impossible. This is a small point but after a long days ride it is good to be easily able to catch up with the world.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireCooperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Fantastic B&B with excellent rooms. We really our stay and Thomas & Marguerite were very welcoming. Fantastic spot, easy to find with a great breakfast and wonderful homemade flapjacks to send us on to the next stage of our trip.

Would highly recommend this B&B if you trip includes a stop over in Penrith

Many Thanks again Thomas & Marguerite

Geoff

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffA1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marguerite1956, Owner at Tynedale Guest House, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We pride ourselves in being most welcoming to coast to coast cyclists ,its a fantastic achievement to complete this route and we do try to be most accommodating to their needs. My famous homemade sticky flapjack is a treat to send off cyclists on the 2nd day of their journey. Thank you for your lovely comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013

After a gruelling day in the saddle, 6 RSLSteeper pedallers arrived to a very warm welcome from Thomas & Margeurite. A very cosy and comfortable B&B made especially memorable by the delicious breakfast made from good quality produce and one thing I'll never forget......Margeurite's fantastic flapjack!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markldavies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marguerite1956, Owner at Tynedale Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your appreciation of our guesthouse,our aim is to welcome you into our home and make your stay a comfortable and memorable experience of which we have succeeded!! ,a great achievement cycling C2C and for such a worthy cause.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is not our first visit to the Tynedale and won't be our last. Thomas and Marguerite are so friendly and helpful and the accomodation is great. The only problem we had was trying to eat any more food during the day, after the breakfast at Tynedale!!!
Once again a big thank you to Thomas & Marguerite

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marguerite1956, Owner at Tynedale Guest House, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you once again Ken and Sandra for your lovely company and kind words of appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Can not say enough on how friendly Thomas & Marguerite are. This was the second tme we had used the Tynedale whilst doing the C2C.Our group filled the B&B and they all praised the friendliness and cleanliness of the B&B. We are returning next year for our charity bike ride. (The homemade cake for the next day was a real treat.)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

£32 a night. Excellent value. Well run and the people running the B&B were very friendly. Even did washing for one of the lads. Can't go wrong staying here. The gave us all flap jacks for the journey and joined in with the groups rapport. Pubs and restaurants a couple of minutes away. Its about 200 yards off the route.

Cyclists be ware of the cycle shop. Prices were a lot higher than what we were used to although staff helpful

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trashcansinatras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Albany House
Albany House
#9 of 61 in Penrith
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
@Eden Gate Guesthouse
@Eden Gate Guesthouse
#23 of 61 in Penrith
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Abbey House
Abbey House
#36 of 61 in Penrith
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Red Townhouse
The Red Townhouse
#11 of 61 in Penrith
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tynedale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tynedale Guest House

Property: Tynedale Guest House
Address: 4 Victoria Road, Penrith CA11 8HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tynedale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Tynedale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tynedale Guest House Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing