We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Center parcs Whinfell”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Second time going to Whinfell and really enjoyed it. Not a cheap place but definately worth it. All the kids were kept busy and entertained through the whole week and we didn't hear the dreaded bored word. The meal at the lakeside was not good but everywhere else we ate was excellent.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Georgina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,308)
There are newer reviews for Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,838 - 3,844 of 8,309 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

We booked last minute this time, so we could only get one of the older lodges within three oaks. We usually book from 38-43 however this lodge was 56, down into a wee culdesack? (sp), We were a bit sceptical at first, as it was an older one, but it did not disappoint. We had three bedrooms (there are only three of us) so the house seemed huge, and as usual the lodge had everything you could need. Comfy beds, great view and enough away from the centre to be quiet. Everything was fantastic as usual, place was very clean, lodge had everything needed, bikes were brand new and the staff were just perfect, so happy to help. We booked a few activities from horse riding, quad bikes to pico sailing, and not one of the activities disappointed. Everytime we go our daughter is a little bigger/older/more confident so there is always something we have not been able to try or that we didn't have enough confidence for yet. The restaurants are all very good too. We booked it all 2 nights before we left so that we knew what we were doing over the week, but some of the time we just wandered too, which was great. As usual things do seem a little expensive, but on researching other similar activities in the area, the prices are pretty much the same. I would always recommend coming here.

Room Tip: Go for three oaks area, it says outer area, but there are wee paths that get you to the centre in ab...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chunkyweemidgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was our fourth visit to Whinfell and yet again we had a lovely time. It is definitely expensive , especially if you book lots of activities - But if your family likes to be active it's worth the cost because no one gets bored.
The accommodation isn't luxurious but the lodge was nice, spacious and we found it very clean. There were a few maintenance things like a mucky ironing board and a bit of the fridge frame was broken but these were really minor and overall pleased with the accommodation. Advertised as free wifi in the villa but that was patchy and unreliable. We had a sauna - not really necessary and I don't think many people use them - a better extra in the executive lodges would be a washing machine !i think it is worth paying to be close to the centre if you plan on being at the activities areas a lot.
The bike arrangements were seamless and the bikes in good condition. We think the bikes are an essential part of the holiday as it just makes things quicker and fun to get around - but I think there were possibly more people getting around just on foot this year than previous visits.
Eating out was pretty expensive. Bella Italia was good and we ate there twice. Dining in , the takeaway is handy but the quality is just ok - discovered bella italia does take aways and that will be our take away if we come again. The sports bar drinks are again pricey, but it is a good spot to spend the evening with pool tables etc upstairs.
All the activities we did were very enjoyable - some are expensive but fun eg painting, aerial adventure , segways. But there are also some cheaper activities which are also good fun but more value for money eg geocache, golf simulator. The price to hire a tennis court is a bit much especially given the courts are not in great condition.
We had spa treatments which were lovely - it's a lovely facility.
Although there are lots of comments on here about the parc market I think it's fine - it stocks most things you might need.
The swimming pool was good this year too - seemed like cleaning and maintenance were improved - so although it's always been good this year was even better.
Overall centerparcs is a great holiday destination and we all had a brilliant time !

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank tj1Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

our fourth time here and the best yet. weather fab. the staff at guest services were thoughtful enough to send my little boy a gift and a card for his birthday. We were really touched by this .stayed at lake beck which was 5 minutes from the village centre. as my other wee boy says our activity packed 4 days was ' better than a week in spain ! 'plan to back to see santa there in December.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is the second visit this year to Whinfell Forest. We stayed in Badger Wood, which is quiet and not too far away from the activities. As it was our second visit we booked the activities in advance to guarantee a place, and gave us a motivation to get up and out. The activities are fantastic, they are well organised and the staff are fabulous with the kids (mine are boys, 17 and 13 and a girl 3.) There was no shortage of stuff to do. It may seem expensive but well worth it.
The pool is brilliant. It's clean and spacious and plenty of places to sit. The changing rooms are superb. However the scuba diving was cancelled and no-one had seen fit to let us know at our accommodation; this is the second time this has happened, on my last visit the yoga was cancelled and a message was left at the chalet after we had set off. There was no notice at the dance studio and felt like a bit of a lemon. However a refund is no problem.
The food at the Lakeside restaurant was, to put it mildly mediocre and over priced.
Back at the chalet. Ours was not very well maintained. The fridge had a large crack on the bottom and the crockery wasn't washed properly. The settees were not comfortable for the 5 of us to sit on. Hubby was convinced ours was the chalet they robbed to find parts to fix other chalets. Why didn't we complain? Thus the title. We aren't going to spend all weekend complaining, when the faults weren't affecting our main aim which was to have a fully active weekend. So I would say, have limited expectations and be prepared to spend huge amounts of money. Will we go again? I think not.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
6  Thank Sulkybumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

I was pleased that despite your disappointment with the standard of your accommodation, you enjoyed your visit to Whinfell Forest.

It was disappointing to read your comments in respect of some of the facilities in your villa and apologise that these were not identified by our teams prior to your arrival. Whilst I appreciate your reason for not bringing your concerns to our attention at the time of your visit, I do assure you had we been aware of your concerns, they would have made every effort to resolve this to your satisfaction.

I do hope that we will be welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards
Sharon Press
Guest Services Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just come back from an amazing weekend at center parcs with the family (10 of us in total.) The weekend as a whole was fantastic and did loads.
Few negatives however think the positives outweigh them...
Accommodation - We hired two places out, firstly had a 4 bedroomed woodland lodge in fell view. The accommodation was a great size. Had everything we needed, bathroom clean and comfy beds. However I was the first person to enter to accommodation and It was disappointing to see it was filthy. There were raisins on the floor, the floor was sticky and had clumps of mud around. Plates and glasses were also dirty. Was very disapointed in this given the amount you pay. Also hired out a lakeside apartment. This was a lot cleaner however the balcony was filthy. Looked like it hadn't been brushed in months.
Food - had a meal at the indian Saturday night which was fantastic. Food was delicious and staff were so friendly and welcoming.
Also ate at the pancake house which was again great.
Activities - The pool I though was quite dirty in places and some of the staff I found were grumpy. If people are unsure which Center Parcs to visit I would definitely recommend Sherwood Forest over here as the pool is twice the size if not bigger and has better slides, rapids and waves by quite a big margin.
Also did Horse riding (staff there were so friendly and nice), Arial Adventure (Again staff friendly) and also did some activities on the lake.
I love center parcs and would go back, however, it would be Sherwood Forest and I dont think I will be going back Winfell.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We are a family of grandparents to grandchildren - from 70 years young to teen 14. We found that there was stuff to suit us all. The lodge was spacious although it looked a little tired - however it was comfortable. We enjoyed the walks and teenagers enjoyed the activities. All said that they would come again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
6.2 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
23.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.0 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#14 of 17 in Keswick
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,054 reviews
20.0 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#16 of 17 in Keswick
185 reviews
22.6 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Whinfell Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Whinfell Forest

Address: Whinfell Forest, Penrith CA10 2DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Penrith
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Whinfell Forest 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Hotel Penrith
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing