We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Rained all weekend but still had a great time. First time for us for lazer combat what great fun that was 8 women all in our 40's can't wait till next year. Aerial adventure was a first for us too a little high but what a rush when you got to the final zip wire how great did I feel when I'd completed that.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_pike, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

It sounds like you had a great time and so adventurous.
We hope to welcome you all back again soon, maybe you could try the High Ropes next time for another adrenalin rush!
Kind regards
Linda Pike
Guest Services Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,356 - 4,362 of 8,384 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Accommodation was excellent (4 bedroom games lodge). Very clean and loads of space. We all had a bathroom each and the games room was fantastic for the kids.
All staff were really friendly and helpful.
Activities were fantastic even the weather did not spoil our fun and we were soaked to the bone.
The spa was fantastic for us mums while the kids played football.
Overall had the best time and would highly recommend

Room Tip: 4 bedroom games lodge. 81 meadow View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toff39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have been going to Centre Parcs for short breaks for 12years and every time we are not disappointed. We know that the accommodation is going to be good and that our children will be safe in this car free environment. We swim every day as the children love all the flumes and can spend hours in there which is good when it is included in the price. This year I actually got to sit and read as the kids are all confident swimmers. We love to play badminton so this is always popular as is football, pool and table tennis, which are all the most reasonable activities. We use the clean and adequate kitchen to cook but also enjoy a meal or two out with a few drinks. Centre Parcs will always be a favourite in our family its the only place we go to time and time again !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We flip between Whinfell & Sherwood. Sherwood has the better water slides, but overall Whinfell is cleaner, more modern & in a great setting. It is quite expensive & food & drink is more than you would pay at the local, but overall we love it. The fact that you leave your car & genuinely forget about if for a few days and just walk or cycle in beautiful settings really refreshes you. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. There are good variety of shops/bars/restaurants. The cycle paths in the woodland is great as well. We keep going back either on our own or with family or friends & we just really enjoy the weekend & look forward to it each year.

Room Tip: Go for the executive, it's abit more but you get daily maid service & wifi and abit more roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had a great time (5 adults 2 infants) during our weekend stay in February. Once we had got inside the main building(s), dodging the the incessant rain, the facilities were excellent. The swimming area at Whinfell is is first class.And although perhaps a bit pricey the food outlets couldn't be faulted. The lodge we were in at Seven Pines was truly a pleasure to stay in. We were enjoying our second stay at Center Parcs and can certainly say we were all keen to return as soon as possible.

Room Tip: If affordable the central area is certainly an advantage in inclement weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingyCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have again enjoyed our family trip to whinfell forest.The meal at Bella was excellent.Our lodge was comfortable.The beds are comfy with nice bed linen.We enjoyed our family Games of badminton which are good value. The only downside was the subtropical experience.the wristbands and the overhaul of the changing rooms is good. The subtropical temperature in the pool area is just not warm enough.The water temperature was also less than advertised we might now need to look at other villages.We have been going to whinfell for 18 years and the setting is just beautiful even in the rain. Mrs G

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We enjoyed our stay tremendously .....but would like to suggest that more seats are put around the grounds for the over 60s ....we found it a very tiring walk and would have loved to have sat for a while to get our strength back ...we also found it very disappointing not to have had a seat to sit on in the adventure playground to watch our grandchildren play ....there was only one bench which was occupied

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
6.2 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
23.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.8 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#17 of 20 in Windermere
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#16 of 17 in Keswick
189 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
22.9 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#68 of 107 in Windermere
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Whinfell Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Whinfell Forest

Address: Whinfell Forest, Penrith CA10 2DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Penrith
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Whinfell Forest 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Hotel Penrith
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing