We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Nearby Hotels
$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms(Pooley Bridge)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$205
$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foundry 34(Penrith)
$133
$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9,050)
Filter reviews
9,050 results
Traveler rating
4,652
2,686
1,052
422
238
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4,652
2,686
1,052
422
238
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslakeside innpancake housesports plazavillage centreguest servicescafe rougeexecutive lodgeseven pinesnew style woodland lodgehired bikesaqua sanawinter wonderlandsports barpottery paintingten pin bowlingall agesmoorland view
Filter
Updating list...
5,096 - 5,101 of 9,050 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2014

After 24 years of holidaying at various centre parcs villages this years midweek break at Whinfell was a dissappointment due to the poor hygiene within the executive villa. Oven was filthy and dishes greasy due to broken dishwasher which we got replaced, maids didnt notice food particles and dirt inside, dread to think what bugs were growing in it. Top it all got bitten by a flea!
Lack of pride was evident and a complacent attitude of the staff. An expensive break ruined by poor customer skills and sour faced staff.
Think back to Sherwood or Longleat for me much nicer people and appear less money orientated

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eunice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

It was our first time at Center Parcs and we had a fantastic time. We stayed in a executive lodge at seven pines and was really impressed by it.
Our 3 year old daughter enjoyed herself very much especially the dance classes. Hiring the bikes was massively worth it and our daughter really loved being pulled along in the trailer.
Yes things were expensive but you expect it in these kind of places and you don't mind paying it when you're paying for quality.
We ate out at Bella Italia which was really nice and a good price too.
Will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PVFCdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Don't know where to start but here goes. First time for me at centre parcs but highly recommended by friends and family and they were not wrong. We stayed in 90 bilberry wood it was very clean with a Sauna which was much used by all! The cleaning service was to a high standard much to stay they even emptied and refilled the dish washer!!! The location was perfect. Lots of previous reviews have mentioned the price so i was expecting a lot of overpriced food and activities. I was pleasantly surprised. We had pizza delivered and picked up two set Chinese meals. Both were really nice and no more expensive than a good high street brand! Overall we will back but unfortunately due to new school rules and the high prices of all holidays during school breaks we will have to start saving x

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharonchris2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I like Center Parcs and have been on a number of occasions to the one at Penrith but no more after they are blatantly ripping people off. Priced the weekend of the 18th - 21st July and was quoted £479 for a comfort plus lodge. I decided i might as well stay for 4 nights so after checking availability for the 21st - 25th July the same lodge came back at £779 for an additional night. Whaaaat, how can they justify putting it up another £300 for an extra night. Thanks but no thanks especially when you consider the cost of the activities and the expensive on site restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

I am sorry to read of your disappointment in the cost between a weekend stay and that of a midweek break. During school holidays we do find that demand for our accommodation is higher for the midweek breaks and as such, on occasions, accommodation for weekend breaks is offered at a lower price to encourage guests to visit at this time and alleviate demand during the busy midweek breaks.

I do regret that you have taken the decision not to visit us on this occasion, but do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards
Sharon Press
Guest Services Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

myself, my partner and little girl booked a weekend break to whinfell with my partners sister her husband and their little girl. We came last January and had a wonderful time which is why we booked to go again. The staff are all great and very friendly, the park is very clean and there is so much to do for kids. As our girls are very young 3 and 4 years old we spent a lot of time in the pool. The pool is great fun, very clean and the changing rooms cater very well for families. We had tea at Hucks the first night which is our favourite restaurant there (fallin off the bone ribs are amazing) and the staff working there are great.

On to the accommodation - this really really was a big let down! when we arrived there was a dirty tissue on the floor in the bedroom - stains all over the curtains - and worst of all on the last day our girl dropped a toy behind the sofa, when we pulled the sofa out to get it we were presented with an inch of dust that had obviously been sat there for months, an apple core that again had been there for a very long time, and other little toys that were not ours. We were very shocked, it was disgusting and i was glad i was going home that day because it made me feel abit sick. Its all laminate flooring so why they don't give the lodge a good clean i have no idea. The water in the bathroom didn't go down the plug hole either so just created a pool of water in the sink.

Apart from the lodge we did have a good time - and i do still recommend going and we will probably go again but be warned about the lodges.

When just me and my partner came on our own last April we stayed in the apartments and they were fantastic!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Prin1cess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz_Center_Parcs, Lead Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

It is great to learn that overall you had a good time but certainly regret the lack of cleanliness in your lodge. This is certainly not acceptable and not the standard that we aim to provide. If your concerns were not address at the time of your stay please contact us via our website.

Your complimentary comments regarding our team are very much appreciate.

Thanks for posting.

Liz Davis
Lead Guest Services Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews