We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A trip to Center Parcs is how you make it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A trip to Center Parcs is how you make it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Both in our 20's, my boyfriend and I decided we wanted to do a couple of activities a day and then relax in the evening, overall it was a great vacation. We stayed Mon-Fri in July and enjoyed meals at Bella Italia, Cafe Rouge and The Lakeside Inn (where plenty of cocktails were consumed). We enjoyed the Quad Biking, Archery, Pool, Bowling, etc and we truly had a great time. We stayed in one of the Apartments which was perfect for us overlooking the lake. We enjoyed it that much we're going back again in April with his family, although this time we're going to stay in a Lodge and we're all looking forward to it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aeg85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,046
    2,293
    888
    360
    192
See reviews for
5,752
632
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our first visit to Whinfell forest and we really enjoyed it , the lodge was cosy and clean , we enjoyed a show for £9.50 each which was good value for money but felt the Restaurant and Dining in prices were very expensive .Swimming Pool was amazing and we would definitely go back

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your first visit to Whinfell Forest. I have however noted your disappointment with the cost of food and drink in our restaurants and would assure you that we do aim to remain competitive. Indeed you will find restaurants from successful high street brands on our Villages which ensures our guests are offered a quality dining experience at a price comparable to that paid when dining out at home.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Sharon Press
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

An excellent way of having a family get together. We enjoyed a lovely break with our 3 adult children and their partners. Plenty of choices of activities to meet all needs/wishes. Highly recommend it as a "get away from it all" break.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have been to centre parcs on a number of occasions and have enjoyed my stays thoroughly but this time I took my dog to an apparently 'dog friendly lodge' which I use the term lightly as that's the only place that was dog friendly. Centre parcs is more dog tolerable and do not accommodate dogs anywhere in the park apart from walking in the forest.. even a small enclosed undercover area would have been great as sitting outside the pub or the centre when it was raining wasn't pleasant. Either make it more dog friendly or not at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chezhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Centre parcs whinfell was an amazing family holiday. We have been before as a couple, however this time we had our 4 month old daughter so we got to see how geared towards babies and children centre parcs really is. As I am still breastfeeding I was delighted to find feeding/ family rooms in the village and sports centre . The feeding room was particularly good as it had a comfy chair, sink and best of all no toilet or changing area (nothing worse than feeding your baby next to a smelly nappy bin.) the lodge itself had a cot, high hair and safety gates. When we arrived I found the cot was broken a quick call to the maintenance team and someone came immediately to fix it . On our second night we decided try the Indian restaurant , the food was amazing and great prices too. In all our experience was lovely and we can't wait to go back soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heywood, Manchester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We went for four nights in January, this was our seventh visit in six years. The lodges are in need of a good clean, the fittings were old but functional. We were hesitant about returning as the lodge we had last year was freezing but it was much warmer on this visit. The bars and restaurants are very expensive (which is starting to put us off going as we'll end up confined to our lodge every night) but customer service is excellent. The pool attendants blew up the kids inflatables for free every day in the pool area, which was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley Lancs
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Enjoyed 4 nights at Whinfell Forest, but have to say we have been coming for 15+ years and the pool area now looks rather dated! as it hasn't changed in all this time. Many many more lodges have appeared over the years but the central facilities at Butterfly House and Sports Centre are still the same. Time to build new leisure facilities , perhaps ?
Restaurants good but expensive, and would have gone to the cinema but it is no longer there. Why not have DVD rental now instead ? Didn't want to buy new films on DVD at £18 a time in supermarket , but would have rented if available.

Room Tip: Spa extremely expensive compared to other facilities in the North West
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madge52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
4.2 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
18.8 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
20.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
22.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
24.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Whinfell Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Whinfell Forest

Property: Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Address: Whinfell Forest, Penrith CA10 2DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Penrith
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Whinfell Forest 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Hotel Penrith
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing