We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Family Meal”
Review of Brackenrigg Inn

Brackenrigg Inn
Ranked #66 of 159 Restaurants in Penrith
Price range: $13 - $32
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing Family Meal”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We arrived on Saturday and couldn't get a table. Taking it as a good sign we booked for the Sunday evening, we weren't disappointed. We had the fish pie with a twist, the duck and chille sausage and a child's fish and chips. Each meal was hot and tasty. The staff were polite and the atmosphere was relaxed. A great relaxing family meal after a long day of walking.

Helpful?
Thank AdamsFamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager646, Manager at Brackenrigg Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Adamsfamily2011,

Thank you so much for the lovely comments you have submitted.
It is always good to know that you were not deterred by the lack of availability on the Saturday night. It can get exceptionally busy so I am pleased to see that you booked for the following day. We are happy to hear that we have met expectations and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards

Lynsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    80
    38
    17
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious meal in a stunning setting”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Finding somewhere for a good lunch on a Monday out of the main holiday season is often quite a challenge but we had no problem today. Having spent the morning walking and taking photos in the area around Aira Force we were ready for a final lunch to finish off our weekend in the Lakes. The Black Sheep sign outside brought us in and we were not disappointed; a good choice of beers and above average pub grub served in pleasant surroundings with a view of the lake just outside the window. I ate the fish pie, an unusual but extremely tasty version of the dish and my friends were complimentary about their burgers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank malton5119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager646, Manager at Brackenrigg Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Malton5119,

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review.
It is lovely to hear that we were a good finish to your weekend and the Chefs are very pleased that their food was enjoyed.
We hope to welcome you back to the Brackenrigg Inn again at somepoint in the future.
Kind Regards

Lynsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brackenrigg Inn”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We went for an evening meal on Monday 23 December & we sat in the bar area next to the window overlooking the lake.
The room was warm & welcoming with a fire burning in the other side of the room. The waitress was very pleasant & the service was very good.
There was a good range of drinks on the bar including some excellent local ales.
The food was served hot & in good time. I chose the Oven roast chicken breast, air dried ham, haggis spring role, parisienne potatoes, wild mushrooms & truffled café crème.
This dish was very good but on a negative point probably just a little overpriced at £13.50 as it was a chicken dish after all.
This was our third visit to the Brackenrigg over the last two years & I have no problem in going there again as we do enjoy eating there.
( Follow me on Twitter: @owstonmichael )

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank owstonmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager646, Manager at Brackenrigg Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi Micheal, Thankyou for your review, any feedback is very useful for us.
I'm happy you enjoyed your visit. We aim to keep a good selection of beers on and the fire is always a good attraction in the winter.
I'm sorry that you thought the chicken dish was a little overpriced, the chef has been told and is looking into this.
We hope to see you back at the Brackenrigg soon.
Lynsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The best hotel steak ever”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Great meal - sat by the fire with a pint - could not be bettered, and that's a promise. The meal took very little time in arriving freshly prepared and with a great smile.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager646, Manager at Brackenrigg Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. The chefs and all the staff are delighted with your review! We take great pride in providing fresh local produce. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Lynsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice beer, warm fire, fine views”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Quiet site up the road. This was the closest place open all day serving tasty real ale and decent selection of above average food. We heartily recommend it :)

Helpful?
Thank Finofreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager646, Manager at Brackenrigg Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Finofreak,

Thank you for the review and your comments have been well received.
we hope to welcome you back to the Inn again at some point in the future.
Kind Regards

Lynsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brackenrigg Inn also viewed

Watermillock, Lake District
Howtown, Lake District
 
Pooley Bridge, Penrith
 

Been to Brackenrigg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing