We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caledonia Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Another Place, The Lake(Watermillock)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveler rating
98
12
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
12
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown centreb bhelpful couplelovely guesthousefruit compotebars restaurantsrooms were very cleanpoached eggsfull englishcoast coastovernight stayfamily weddingleisure centrefamily roomfriendly welcomecooked breakfasttea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 113 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Warm cosy room, good shower , Great Breakfast I had Full english with tasty local bacon, black pud etc but there are many specialities you can pre-order night before involving fish, blueberries etc!! . Easy 2 use wifi , flat screen TV and comprehensive Info on local area. Hosts helpful and approachable.

Location handy for gym bunnies/swimmers coz just 1 min walk to right of front door is Penrith leisure centre. Foodies can walk 15 mins up castle st. to rear of sainsbury's (next to leisure centre) and get to Cranston's on top rd if turn left or station, magnificant castleitself and Aldi's to right.

Room Tip: Rooms at back presumably avoid sleep disruptive traffic noise on A6 road one gets in at front rooms. Get a parking Disc from hosts if you are with car- which gives 2 hours free parking e.g. set to 8am after 6pm.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickytweeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have stayed at many B&Bs but can honestly say this is the best I have been to.
We were doing the Coast to Coast.
Sue and Ian gave us a very warm welcome.
Bikes securely locked away.
The house was lovely, immaculately clean and tastefully decorated.
Very tasty full English Breakfast!
They were very accommodating with my support team dropping bags off and picking them up after we left.
They also work closely with adjacent B&Bs if your party comes to more than their total capacity.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisC830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stopped here on the 8th May 2013, working in the area!!
All I can say is a BIG thank-you to Sue who made me very welcome!!
The room was well appointed and tidy and clean(had a great night's sleep).

In the morning I had a super full english breakfast(plenty of it), then on to work!!

The guest house is just outside the town centre, I walked the main street in about 15 mins, there are plenty of different restaurants for you to look at and have a meal!!

We have put Sue's place down on a works list of good guest houses for us to use when we are in the area!!

I would highly recommend the Caledonia guest house!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pils5673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night over the first May Bank holiday 2013 during a C2C run. Was greeted with a warm welcome from Ian and Sue, who were very helpful. Room was good with a great breakfast (maybe too much so!) for a difficult start to to the following days ride. Right next to town centre, shops and local bars and restaurants. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9mp9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

A very warm welcome awaited us on our arrival. Secure lock up for our bikes. Room very clean and warm. Ideally placed for town and for access to the C2C route. Breakfast good, nothing was too much trouble. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews