We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C2C bike ride Sept 2012”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caledonia Guest House
Ranked #22 of 65 Penrith B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have just stayed in Caledonia whilst doing the C2C bike ride, I wish all the places were as good as this were we stayed, when we arrived we was warmly greeted by the owner who even gave us a hose to clean all our bikes down and they had a secure place to store all 8 bikes.We were shown our rooms and we was very pleased they were also comfy, We all had a great nights sleep and when we got up for breakfast we was in for a treat, The breakfast was 1st class with a great choice just what we needed on the 2nd day of the C2C. I have to say I will be coming back here to stay and if you're thinking about staying in Penrith this place is a must !!! very friendly, clean,comfy and great food !!! Thank you Caledonia loved it xxx

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee_evans9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 113 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

I was looking for a guest house for one night as a stop over on my way to Scotland, I found this one via a tourism website and what a little gem it is. The guest house is near the town centre with parking out front or at the rear, I was given a parking permit for street parking. I was greeted on arrival with a smile and a handshake and an offer to help with our bags. First impressions were good, the house is so very clean and tidy with a lovely warm atmosphere. The room itself was light, spacious and nicely decorated. The bathroom looked brand new and the beds were beautifully made and comfortable. We had difficulty getting the tv to work but a quick phone call to the owner and it was sorted without any issue. We were given directions and guidelines to the nearest restaurant and the owners had good knowledge of where was suitable (I had my 8 month old baby with me)
Breakfast was superb, a choice of fresh fruit and yogurt, cereal, cooked breakfast and toast as well as fruit juice and as much tea and coffee as we wanted. As we were returning a few days later we were so impressed we rebooked to stop again 3 nights later and I've already recommended the guest house to friends. As a family stop over it is ideal and I would happily recommend it to anyone, I certainly plan on returning.

Room Tip: Room 5 is at the top of the house and therefore a lot of stairs but we had lots of help with bags an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashbags1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here as a party of 8 on 13th July 2012. The couple who run this guest house were very friendly and welcoming indeed. They were helpful and had information on local amenities and were able to recommend places to eat on the evening.
The rooms were very clean and well presented, the beds were comfortable and clean towels were provided. I stayed in an attic room which was small but lovely all the same, it had 2 single beds in and a single pull out bed which was already made up for our arrival and was in my opionion as comfortable as any bed I've ever slept in. We were given a breakfast form to fill in (which was a simple tick box), I thought this was a great idea and everyone got what they wanted. The breakfast was absolutely delicious, a wide choice of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, flowing toast (choice of breads too), jams, orange juice, tea and coffee. The cooked breakfast was cooked fresh and was by far the nicest I've in a long time. Fantastic guest house, cannot complain at all..........good price too. Thank you for a lovely stay :-) Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

When we arrived at the guest house we were very warmly welcomed by the owner and shown our lovely double room. The rooms were well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, some biscuits and even a bottle of water. The beds are very comfortable but it was slightly noisy as our room (room 1) was on the front next to the main road. My sister however stayed in room 3 which was on the back and she said the rooms were very quiet. This wouldn't put me off staying again and I would recommend for others to stay here. It is situated in a very good location for the village and is close to shops and restaurants.

We very much enjoyed our stay and if we visit Penrith again we would stay at The Caledonia Guest House.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have stayed in a few B&B's and have to say this was the most pleasant experience I have had yet. The owners were very nice specially the gentleman. Very warm, clean, nicely decorated and friendly place to stay, the rooms were well equipped and beds were of high standard. The owners were very accommodating and were helpful in guiding us on nearby attractions and places to eat. We had a large group and made a bit of noise but they were cool with that as well. Overall a very good experience and definitely recommended. Lastly, the breakfast was awesome :-)

Room Tip: The Twin Bed rooms can be changed to become one big bed able to sleep a family of 2 adults plus a ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArifSaleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

A fantastic place to stay lovely rooms, very clean and fresh. A fantastic breakfast every morning. Very warm and friendly place to stay I can't recommend it enough a must if you are staying in Penrith.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carlostico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed here on the C2C as our first port of call, secure storage for the bikes, good reccomendations for pubs serving real ales and decent grub, breakfast was the best we had on the trip - started with porridge, then an excellent cooked breakfast with amazing cumberland sausage and very tasty black pudding. The rooms were very clean and shower was good. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.0 mi away
Blue Swallow Guesthouse
Blue Swallow Guesthouse
#11 of 65 in Penrith
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
@Eden Gate Guesthouse
@Eden Gate Guesthouse
#20 of 65 in Penrith
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tynedale Guest House
Tynedale Guest House
#16 of 65 in Penrith
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Victoria Guest House
#58 of 65 in Penrith
12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashberry Guest House
Ashberry Guest House
#6 of 65 in Penrith
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Red Townhouse
The Red Townhouse
#9 of 65 in Penrith
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonia Guest House

Address: 8 Victoria Road, Penrith CA11 8HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Hotel Class:4 star — Caledonia Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Caledonia Guest House Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing