We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caledonia Guest House
Ranked #26 of 66 Penrith B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We had a couple of days off from a hectic work schedule and we were lucky enough to have these days off at the Caledonia. Ian was the perfect host, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was lovely, a nice selection, the rooms were very comfortable. I cannot recomend it highly enough. We at Illyria look forward to our next stop off here XXX

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alastair_chisholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 113 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2011

We had the most fantastic few days doing the coast to coast....stayed in the Caledonia Guest House. Friday 1st July in Room No 1 ...just amazing lovely comfy bed and shower was lovely, just what you need to relax. The hosts were wonderful and very hospitable.
The Italian restaurant was just perfect after a long day.
What can I say about the Breakfast...delicious full English, just ask the lady to make a bowl of porridge it was DELICIOUS!! and the fresh fruit was gorgeous.
A place I would certainly recommend. I will definately be back if I am in the area.
Thankyou once again for making us so welcome. I completed the coast to coast and raise £500.00 for the Air Ambulance.
Jennifer and Anthony Heaney...Derbyshire

Room Tip: Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny_heaney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

VERY friendly host , my wife has been ill and needed a bit of R and R ,the hotel was clean well run and Ian couldnt do enough for us, the breakfast was standard full english but was very well cooked and tasted great ,we had a great stay only 5 mins walk to town centre which had plenty of places to eat and drink .We would always go back when in area.

Room Tip: dont be put off by the cinema outside nice inside,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kfrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stayed here as out first stop along the C2C. Rooms were lovely and clean and shower was great after a long day cycling! B&B is right in the centre so only minutes walk to the nearest pub / restaurants which was handy. Friendly hosts and breakfast was great with no problems with the early start. Also bikes locked away safe and sound over night. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linniehay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

realy clean and tidy
the couple who run this place are realy nice people
it is literaly a 5 minute walk from the town centre
plenty of bars and restaurants to enjoy
would recomend chinese on right 100ydds on right towards town
12.99 special menu lovely
breakfast was good value with a good choice
only down side was low water pressure in shower
im an middle aged hairy dood

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottybat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Lovely people beautiful room great breakfast. Penrith is a lovely market town and the hotel is just a few minutes walk to the town square. Penrith is definitely a gateway to the lakes.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank generation60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Ian and Sue can't do enough to please, the rooms and bathrooms are spotless. Wide choice of breakfasts, cereals fruits and marvelous English with choice of eggs.
Situated in a quiet part of Penrith but only 2 minutes walk to the town center you can be guaranteed a perfect stay.
Loved Ians veggie patch as well.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GazmanMobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
2.5 mi away
The Rebels Hide
The Rebels Hide
#3 of 3 in Clifton
46 reviews
0.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Sun Inn
The Sun Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Reigny
65 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Ginney Country Guest House & Holiday Cottages
5.5 mi away
The Black Swan Inn Culgaith
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonia Guest House

Address: 8 Victoria Road, Penrith CA11 8HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Hotel Class:4 star — Caledonia Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Caledonia Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonia Guest House Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing