We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brantwood Country Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Ulverston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a gem!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Spotlessly clean and comfortable beds. Fantastic food on both evenings we dined here. Breakfast was good too! Staff helpful, warm and welcoming. We're in the trade ourselves and were having a couple of days break and came across details of this hotel by chance - what a find! Excellent value for money. We'll definitely be back..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilliebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    62
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
25
134
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, U.K.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have been to the restaurant of this hotel for a meal on several occasions and have never been disappointed.
The menu is varied, portions more than adequate and staff very friendly.
We would have no hesitation in recommending to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlisle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here to attend a wedding. When we checked in we told them that we would be returning late. That was no problem and we were also told that check out and breakfast was flexible for people who may have sore heads. We were also offered breakfast in bed! The room was pretty dated but we didn't mind because it was very clean and you sort of expect that in a b&b. There is a nice garden out the back where we had breakfast and bar service was good.
Overall would certainly stay here again if the need arose.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triplady329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We were stuck in Cumbria after being let down by previous hotel and found the Brantwood on the internet.We phoned them direct and were answered by a very pleasant gentleman who gave us precise directions from Penrith,I was most surprised when i received a call from the hotel checking we were okay after we were delayed by accident and were overdue.We were greeted with a smile and offered food we opted for sandwiches in the room which were very good, despite previous reviews room 1 is very comfortable and not as noisy as a previous review stated.The breakfast is plentiful and well cooked and when my wife was not well enough to attend breakfast I was offered the chance to take a breakfast up to the room for her,this kind of service certainly makes a holiday.All in all I found this hotel well worth the money paid and I for one will certainly be making the journey from Scotland to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a week at the Brantwood on B&B basis.
The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient, the breakfasts were great and the restaurant served some fab food and great coffee.
Also the chap behind the bar knows how to make a proper Pimms - the best I have had in a long time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackyHerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hotel is a hidden gem just outside the national park but only 3 miles from Pooley Bridge / Ullswater, and 2 miles from m6. The back of the hotel is lovely on a nice day, miles of countryside around. Had x4 rooms and all were nice but a little dated. Thankfully we stayed at the hotel for our evening meal, it was fabulous. Also a very good breakfast. All the staff were lovely, helpful and friendly. Recommended.

Room Tip: All were fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We met up with some friends and decided to dine again at The Brantwood as it has been over two years since we last ate there. We were not disappointed on this occasion at all. Despite the restaurant being fairly busy, service was excellent and our various culinary requests dealt with professionally. The food was really rather good and we all enjoyed our various meals. It was also good to see that the washrooms had been modernized since our last visit. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XWA53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
1.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
387 reviews
2.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 10 in Penrith
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#8 of 10 in Penrith
427 reviews
5.6 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brantwood Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brantwood Country Hotel

Property: Brantwood Country Hotel
Address: near the M6 & the A66 | Stainton, Penrith CA11 0EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Brantwood Country Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Brantwood Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brantwood Country Hotel Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing