We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“En-route to Scotland for Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brantwood Country Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Another satisfying stop-over at the Brantwood. Atmosphere was cosy and welcoming - food was delicious and rooms clean. Richard and the staff are extremely accomodating - we shall return on our next trip up to Scotland. Thanks to Richard and the Team

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 226 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

We've been several times the last being in 2011 but called in for lunch in early December 2012 and found the place still to be friendly, comfortable and serving good food. We noted the Christmas offerings of £18 for two courses and £21 for three so went back one Saturday night before Christmas with two friends.

A log fire in the bar/lounge always bodes well and although a specially priced Christmas menu there was a good selection including catering for the particular needs of one of our friends who has a gluten-free diet.

The food was good and the service faultless with a good Christmassy atmosphere and crackers were included in the price. I think it was the owner or manager who was about including waiting on and that always makes a difference.

We were the last to leave the dining room but although all the other tables had been cleared they waited until we'd left before setting the tables for a full house of Sunday lunches the next day, a small point but it shows someone cares.

We shall return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAG018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here en route to Scotland. Room was clean and comfortable and service was excellent. All the staff were very efficient and friendly. The food was great and we would certainly stay again. We had an excellent evening meal in the cosy restaurant. This hotel is very convenient for the M6.(

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Starting off on arrival we had a nice friendly welcome, all staff were smiling and the service provided by them was excellent.
Food was great. They had a steak special that night which was very nice
Overall great Dinner
Would defiantly recommend
10/10

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodeater64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed there with my wife for one night when visiting the Penrith area. Very convenient for Penrith & Northern lakes. We stayed in Room 6 overlooking the front of the hotel. The premises were clean, the room clean and contemporary and FREE WiFi (why can small independent hotels do it free and big corporate chains charge a fortune?). Underfloor heating in the bathroom (electric) heated towel rail (electric) with additional heating in the room. There appeared to be just four rooms in use on our visit and we ate an evening meal there also, good quality food. The only 'niggles' it would have made a (very) big difference if there had been a fire lit in the bar and the carpet in the restaurant is possibly many years past its best with the hesian backing showing through in many places and much use of tape to cover what must be gaps. (Would have had 5 stars if these niggles were not there). We had to assume that the 'normal' owner was away at the time of our visit due to alternative 'call out' numbers being given for a period of 2 weeks or so.
If anyone going there is not fully mobile I can see problems as all the rooms appear to be upstairs (no lift).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Himself2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have stayed at The Brantwood many, many times, each one better than the last. Same friendly staff at each visit overseen by Richard the very hospitable, professional and friendly owner. Meals are varied and interesting and presented with style. Special requests are catered for without fuss. Although one or two of the rooms are ready for refurbishing, they are nevertheless very clean and well presented and the beds are particularly comfortable. This is a small, friendly hotel with a very attractive restaurant and an ambience that is all too often lacking and many establishments. Thankyou Richard and team. Delice & Ken Thompson.

Room Tip: There are no "undesirable" rooms to the best of my knowledge. All are on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have stayed at the Brantwood on several occassions and cannot fault it. Some reviews have said that the rooms are "dated" which is true, but the hotel is refurbing the rooms and if room 6 is anything to go on they will be very nice. That aside, we couldn't have asked for a friendlier welcome, all the staff are really nice and the food is fantastic (particularly the ribs and the lamb). Just keep in mind that this is an old pub and it will obviously have creaky floors and uneven walls but isn't that the reason we choose this type of accomodation - so that it has character and atmosphere! We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank human71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
1.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
4.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
455 reviews
2.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
909 reviews
5.6 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brantwood Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brantwood Country Hotel

Address: near the M6 & the A66 | Stainton, Penrith CA11 0EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range: $105 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Brantwood Country Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brantwood Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brantwood Country Hotel Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing