We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Place, Fantastic Food and Great Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brantwood Country Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place, Fantastic Food and Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This has got to be THE best place in Penrith! After a really hard day driving up from Nottingham this was just what we needed. The staff couldnt have been nicer. Atmosphere was calm and friendly. We ordered our meal and sat and had a drink until we were shown to our seats inside the restaurant. Our meals were delicious - hot, great flavour and we felt like we could literally roll out of the restaurant we were that full. Everything was home cooked to perfection. We will definately be back to this place. Obviously very popular with the locals as the restaurant was quite busy. If you want to stop for a really nice, well cooked, not too expensive meal - go no further than the Brantwood.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    60
    17
    9
    7
See reviews for
24
130
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

One night stopover, loved the placed. Home cooked meal & soup were fantastic. Large room, comfortable bed with good shower (room 2). As with any old english village accomodation, tall people must duck thier heads. Excellent breakfast.
We would recommend to those looking for something traditional.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I am 65 and the evening meal (Lasagne) was the worst I have ever experienced. I would have sent it back had I not been so tired after the drive from Scotland.
It was obviously previously baked (burnt) and reheated with melted cheese on top to disguise the fact - disgusting !
We were in room 4 and noise from below, kept us awake until after 1.00a.m. The shower suddenly went cold and stopped. The room was shabby and not in any way worth the money.
Good points, friendly, smiley staff, the breakfast.

Room Tip: Find a better stop on journey to/from Scotland. I Recommend "The Green" B&B. Cotehill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

We had a very nice stay for 1 night on our way back from Scotland. We had room 6 which had recently been refurbished and although a little small everything was there for our comfort. The bar lounge area is lovely with an open fire and comfortable seating. The evening meal was excellent, my husband ordered roast lamb and I think when it came it was half a shoulder he said it was delicious. I had Brantwood chicken which was also excellent. Coffe was in abundance all in all the food at dinner could not be faulted. The breakfast room was a small room at the back of the restaurant and again the food was excellent, it was hot and plentiful in fact after the huge dinner we could not do justice with the breakfast. The staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you.

Room Tip: We understand some of the rooms need refurbishing so ask if you can have a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D1788SJpaulined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

We booked this hotel over the internet and sadly didn't read some of the reviews on here before booking, the online brochure makes the hotel look delightful, in reality the hotel, particularly the bedrooms (we had room 4) were tired. scruffy and in desperate need of an overhaul. The welcome was warm, but the bedroom was freezing, we had to leave the small fan heater on all the time. The carpet was worn, anaglypta decor ripped, stained and very shabby, bathroom paint peeling and no bath. Toilet very reluctant to flush and shower went from burning hot to freezing every few minutes. The room was above the bar and we could hear every word said in there, very noisy. The daily special of pie and veg was lovely but the breakfast was average with little options for veggies. The upside is that the staff were friendly but not the best choice we have ever made, we would not stay again.

Room Tip: Not room 4/
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakeslover062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is a small, private hotel with restaurant in a quiet old village outside Penrith. We arrived in thick, freezing fog and dark and the house looked welcoming with plenty of parking. This being a small hotel there is no reception desk as such so noone much to welcome you, which is a bit off putting, but when we reached our room it was cosy. The hotel is being gradually done up and ours was not one of the refurbished rooms but the bed was comfortable and the room warm (important in January) and all the important things like reading lights, tea making stuff and hanging space were there. There were also two bunk beds so they obviously cater for families but this just gave us extra space for luggage. There are only 7 rooms and it is rather creaky and old which we liked - a bit like staying with relations in the country.

There is a small bar with an open fire - when we arrived there were some tired looking walkers sitting happily and it later filled up with locals. We would have liked to spend the whole evening here.

The restaurant is obviously popular with locals and there was a large party going on but there is plenty of space and the service was excellent so we did feel ignored at all. Food was good (with large portions) and accent on local produce. There is a small wine list but this didn't seem their main emphasis.

Breakfast the next day was very good and again the service was helpful and friendly.

I would like to return and use this as a base for a walking weekend or similar.

Room Tip: Some rooms have been refurbished and some have a view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

Spent a very enjoyable week - end break at the hotel...Very pleasant room..good food and excellent service..clearly popular with locals as well - always a good sign..Sound insulation in the bedroom not the best but overall most enjoyable and look forward to staying again. Very reasonably priced when we stayed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Creamyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
1.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
2.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
4.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
5.6 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brantwood Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brantwood Country Hotel

Property: Brantwood Country Hotel
Address: near the M6 & the A66 | Stainton, Penrith CA11 0EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Brantwood Country Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Brantwood Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brantwood Country Hotel Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing