We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brantwood Country Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful warm welcome”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

My husband and I had a memorable two nights at this charming hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It had been recommended to us several times and what a find, the room we were in was lovely. We ate there for both nights and the food was absolutely delicious and remarkably well priced with a huge choice. The owner Richard was the most charming host we have ever encountered. There was nothing that he wouldn't do to make our stay perfect in every way, what a lovely man, I can see why the Brantwood is so popular with holidaymakers and locals alike, it has a lovely ambience. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    60
    17
    9
    7
See reviews for
25
132
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We would just like to thank the Brantwood Hotel and all it staff for such a wonderful weekend. My Husband and I were celebrating our golden wedding anniversary and we could not have been looked after any better. We felt like the royal couple! The food was excellent and we were looked after so well. When our family joined us for a meal on the Saturday they were welcomed by the Manager and all our needs were met. A comfortable, quaint hotel with excellent service. Many thanks again to Richard and his team. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

My husband injured his head on a low door frame which was poorly signed. He had to lie down all evening with a cold compress. It was our wedding anniversary which was spoilt. Regretably the attitude of the manager was unsympathetic. Moreover his laissez- faire communication following the accident was uncaring.
We were not even offered a reduction in the bill for the spoilt weekend. We will never stay again, we will go back to the HOWTOWN HOTEL. The staff and management there are exemplorary We highly recommend it. We should not have changed.. Big regrets...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triciamx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We enjoyed a relaxing stay here for 1 night, arrived at 4pm intending to go to the local pub but we were so comfy here didnt leave the building until checkout next day.
We both thought highly of the food and service. Nice to see a real fire.
The room was small (room 5) but had been pre warned and decided to take it anyway, and for £50 on a Saturday night I thought it was good value. ok for 1 night stay.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancastrianUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We used the Brantwood as a base for our visit to The Lakes. Our friends who we were with had stayed before and recommended it. And now we would thoroughly recommend it to other travellers.
We found it very good value indeed. The rooms were comfortable, cosy and quiet. The staff were very friendly, approachable and attentive, making the whole experience relaxing and enjoyable.
The food was great and reasonably priced with a good menu to choose from.
We stayed over the weekend and the hotel was busy on the Saturday night with many locals seeming to use it for different celebrations. The fact that it was so busy did not have an effect on our enjoyment. In fact, I found the whole atmosphere very friendly and welcoming with the staff working very hard and effectively to meet everyone's needs.
If you are looking for a value for money hotel which ticks all the boxes as far as customer care is concerned then look no further.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimfaekp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We just have spent 2 nights at this hotel,on arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome. The room was small but comfortable and very clean, plenty of hot water in the bathroom. In the morning the breakfast excellent would recommend the full english, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Over all it is a lovely hotel but as it is a old building it could do with a bit of work done on it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knox4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

richard will do anything he can to help ,and get everything right.food fabulous,staff very professional,dining room very nicely decorated, i think they are doing all they can to up date,it just takes time...but will be worth it....thank you..

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
1.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
379 reviews
3.6 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 10 in Penrith
844 reviews
5.6 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#8 of 10 in Penrith
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brantwood Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brantwood Country Hotel

Property: Brantwood Country Hotel
Address: near the M6 & the A66 | Stainton, Penrith CA11 0EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Brantwood Country Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Brantwood Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brantwood Country Hotel Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing