We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and friendly staff”
Review of The Pheasant Inn

The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #11 of 164 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Traditional Lakeland gastro pub. Great Real Ales (CAMRA accredited). Fine range of wines plus beers, spirits, soft drinks. Stunning 'chef and daily specials' compliment the extensive menu of starters, mains and desserts. Same menu throughout. Full 14 allergen data to customers for every dish to help you choose Gluten free , Dairy Free, Nut Free & Vegetarian and Vegan available. Friendly welcoming staff. Dog friendly in bar & free doggy treat (small charity donation requested) Accompanied children welcome. Elevated Beer terrace & front outside tables. Open for lunch and evening service every day (except Christmas Day). Restaurant table reservations available. Open fire in the cooler months.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff were very friendly. The food was very good (scampi and beef pie). Only downside was that the portions were so large that I didn't have room for dessert.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lindagill2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHAM64, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi and thank you for your 5 star review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the scampi and our very popular beef pie.

Many of our desserts are very light, such as the Homemade Lemon Possett or Roulade, so never be afraid to think you can't finish off your meal by missing out on a deliciously sweet, or tangy, end!

Thanks again for your review and hope to see you again soon.
Michelle
(owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was recommended to us an didn't disappoint. Food and atmosphere superb. Friendly staff and clean and tidy. Go visit you wont regret it.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jonaswoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHAM64, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review highly recommending the Pheasant Inn.

We are delighted that you found your visit superb and its great to have the guests of our pub tell others to visit because they won't regret it.

thanks again and hope to see you again
Michelle
(owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Honesty first it is a little bit out of town but we'll worth it. If you decide to walk to it do so via the park as the roads are busy and not a lot of pavement.
Sorry about the negative.
Lovely pub worth checking out as very good selection of beers. Do ask to try. We didn't eat but we saw an awful lot of people doing so and everything we saw we were drooling at. The food looked fab and the specials board was impressive. Not cheap eats but it looked very much value for money. Unfortunately we found this on our last night and had already eaten. However the hotelier we stayed with said it was the best food in Keswick. What I saw certainly wouldn't contradict that.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank pappaQ_lds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHAM64, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi and thank you for your review.

We are a very short and leisurely 10 minute stroll along the river through Fitz Park with views of Latrigg and Skiddaw....and as you say well worth it.

We really appreciate your comments about our real ales which feature guest ales too.

Its a shame that you could only droll as I'm sure we would have fed you well from either the menu or the specials. You'll find we are certainly not the most expensive within Keswick and as you say you do get value for money in terms of quality and quantity.

Its great that your hotelier said we are the best food in Keswick and hopefully you will be in the area again and will be able to see for yourself.
Thanks again for your lovely review
Michelle
(owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food excellent and generous. Magnificent steak pie. Staff well informed, professional and friendly. Attractive bistro had warm and friendly atmosphere

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHAM64, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi and thank you for your short and to the point review which sums up the Pheasant Inn.

The Steak pie is ever popular and we really do appreciate all your comments - from the food, to the staff, and the atmosphere.

Thanks again and hope you dine with us in the near future.
Michelle
(owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It was crowded even at 6pm but we were l lucky to find a little table and joined our 'neighbours'. Both had the Cumberland sausage with lots of gravy and enjoyed the ambience - nothing quite like an English pub and this was no exception - good basic and tasty food at reasonable prices. Would go again.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHAM64, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your local Cumberland Sausage.

We are a traditional Lakeland Pub with all the warmth and charm the Pheasant Inn brings from its long history.

We do offer tasty food, prepared and freshly cooked to order, from basics such as steak pie, fish pie, Cumberland sausage or even scampi if you so wish.

However our menu is extensive and you could have tried our Venison Bourguignon, the Herb crusted Hake Supreme, Barbary Duck...our even one of our specials which would have been Hungarian Goulash, Cumbrian Lamb Rump or Natural Smoked Haddock on the evening you visited.

Hopefully you will get to dine with us again.
Thanks again for your kind review
Michelle
(owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pheasant Inn also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing