We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, great beer”
Review of The Pheasant Inn

The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #8 of 130 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great beer”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Oyster stout is a great beer. The staff are very friendly. Like everything else in Keswick, though, dinner time can be a crunch.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dustinfarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    669
    311
    57
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing ribs”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Excellent choice of food, including several specials every day. Very good lamb, venison and stake. Amazing ribs in BBQ souse, probably best ribs I have ever had. Very nice and pleasant service.
Mildly local folks as not in the city centre. Large groups have to try to reserve, as small dining area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dama0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food and good beer”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Being a half-mile or so outside the town centre, you might think The Pheasant would be quiet. Not so - if we hadn't booked a table, we wouldn't have eaten.

The beer is first-class, the food is very nearly also. Both starters were brilliant; my whitebait were tasty and crisp, my wife's pate was delicious. My duck and my wife's steak were just this side of overdone. By no means enough to send it back, and both were full of flavour (the tomato and chorizo sauce that the duck came with was incredible), but it felt just a little like the kitchen was catering to a crowd who don't like pink meat. Still, no real problem.

Service was attentive and polite, and the price was on the slightly high side of fair.

Would definitely return, armed with the knowledge that you need to order your steak a little more rare than usual.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“superb food in traditional pub”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

A very traditional type pub, not part of a chain or anything. Fairly focused on food, which is apparent as you walk in.

Between us we had soup, potato skins, scampi, fish pie and a kiddies meal. All the food was freshly prepared (except for the scampi) - even the soup and potato skins.

Service was exemplary. We had a very pleasant, friendly female waitress who was very attentive. But the others kept an eye on us also, and were equally efficient and friendly. Uncharacteristically, we left a nice tip.

We went during a school holiday, and had to book. Prices seemed quite reasonable for Keswick.

Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Panhead-rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A fleeting Visit,”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Only a quick visit, food and drinks very good, very quiet on our day of visit, slightly off beaten track.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 99michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pheasant Inn also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing