We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beef pie ever!”
Review of The Pheasant Inn

The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #8 of 130 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best beef pie ever!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stopped at the Pheasant Inn on a very rainy day and after exploring the surrounding mountains... it was very nice to arrive to a warm atmosphere, with a proper fire burning and we had no trouble getting a table for lunch (which is served between 12 and 2pm). My husband and I chose the beef pie and chips and it was the best beef pie we ever had in a pub in England!!! The chunky non greasy chips were all I had wanted since the start of our holiday too! simply delicious! back to France I'm still talking about it ;-)
Lovely pub, nice atmosphere, and lovely food.
Highly recommand!!!
Lily and Pierre.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily and Pierre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    652
    303
    55
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A pub at the edge of Keswick that never disappoints”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

A group of us visited The Pheasant Inn for lunch as we wanted a hearty meal before we left Keswick for home. I have visited the pub before and the food has been great and this time it was no different.

We had a mix of mains which included the soup of the day, steak and ale pie and scampi. All the mains were excellent and the dish to point out was the steak and ale pie. Rather than the current trend of serving a pie in a deep dish with a pastry top, this one was a proper pie with pastry all around. I also liked the fact that they gave you a choice of boiled potatoes or chips for the side. So if you fancied something not deep fried the option was there. As always the portion sizes were generous and the value for money was great, the meal definitely hit the spot.

The service was polite and unobtrusive and the wait for our food was just about right given that it was off peak season. As with most pubs in Cumbria you walk in, find a table and order food at the bar. The pub itself is split into sections with tables for dining in each and a pub area for drinks, not a bad layout.

Given its location I would definitely recommend The Pheasant Inn for a last stop before leaving Keswick. There is sufficient parking and the food is hearty pub grub which is ideal for a final leg of holiday.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AWSL1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious pub grub”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Cosy atmosphere lovely ales, warm fires, reasonable prices, good portions and delicious food...what more could you ask for....the cumberland sausage and mash fantastic, flavoursome and warming on a cold day. Good selection of veg too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nairb659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent meals”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Visiting Keswick over the Christmas period, we decided to try The Pheasant Inn after reading customers' reviews. Needless to say we visited three time whilst on holiday and each time never failed to satisfy. Excellent food and service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Desmond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We had a lovely lunch and a couple of drinks beside the log fire. Food is a little pricey but the atmosphere's great. Very relaxing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Winsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pheasant Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing