We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall A Good Experience At A Cozy Pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pheasant Inn

The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #6 of 126 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overall A Good Experience At A Cozy Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a pub is serving good food that is a step above the rest in Keswick. It is a pub, not fine dining. Two of us ate dinner here 4 nights during our stay in the Lakes District. The menu is varied and consistently good. Lots if locals eat here. They start serving dinners at 6pm and the tables fill up quickly. No reservations necessary if you eat at one of the tables in the bar area, but get there early if you don't want to stand around and wait for a table to change over. Weekends are VERY BUSY so reserve a table for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jiminhawaii808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    281
    51
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice food, tables a bit cramped”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

nice food, fair value (similar to other pubs in the area), little bit crammed in - but still pleasant

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Excellent food and service. The restaurant was fully booked and we were lucky not to have to wait too long for a table in the bar but it was very busy and I would recommend booking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

In brief, three of us ate here, different meals, three courses and all were fantastic. As a chef and guesthouse owner here in Keswick I was very impressed and will be recommending The Pheasant.. The seasoning was superb and the meats were cooked to perfection. Well done and see you soon. Oh and the staff were really nice and efficient too. Great concept and execution and how excellent pub food should be.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SalisburyHouseTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa del Sol
Level Contributor
183 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Too few kitchen staff and too much microwave, but acceptable food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The staff are friendly and the overall ambiance is acceptable. However, my venison casserole had very obviously been reheated using a microwave as the meat on top was completely dry and there was a lack of any gravy. My wife had the trout, which was good, and I had venison, yet we both had the same selection of vegetables! To serve red cabbage, cauliflower, peas and carrots with trout is bizarre, and is not exactly what one would expect with a venison casserole, but the waiter informed us that everyone gets the same. He reported that there are only two staff in the kitchen, with at least 60 covers in the restaurant. This is obvious under-staffing and explains the poor vegetable selection and use of the microwave.
The wine list is adequate and not too expensive, although not cheap for what is essentially a pub.
When we asked for the bill, we finally gave up after a 20 minute wait and went and paid at the bar, which cost the pub any tip we might have left. The waitress said that she had forgotten, but did not apologise - obviously better staff training is required.
We don't understand this place's high ranking in Keswick - there are much better restaurants in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeevesCostadelSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pheasant Inn also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing