We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hearty Food with a touch of class”
Review of The Pheasant Inn

The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #7 of 130 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Hearty Food with a touch of class”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Arrived late Friday for lunch, but where very helpful and asked if we ordered quickly we get our order in.
The food arrived and it was extremely tasty, I had the Beef &Ale pie whilst my other half had the cheese Pie, was extremely difficult to say who won on that count, but what did win the red cabbage, which was served with the meals (along with many other veg) but this stood out.
In fact asked for the receipt to try and reproduce back home.
Greet food and atmosphere - well worth dropping in if in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter197_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    296
    54
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Proper northern pub”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This was a great pub...we stopped here for lunch and it was great ..we ended up staying a long while and adding more drinks to our tab lol.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma0418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food, excellent service”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a wonderful meal with proper children's meals (chicken fillets with pieces of chicken breast not mush, high quality sausage, hand cut chips). The service was faultless. This was a very busy weekend and they were still very welcoming. So good we went back the next day. Great value too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cakeaddict_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
218 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Cosy pub with good food and dog-friendly too”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our third visit to this lovely cosy pub, located on the outskirts of Keswick. After a wet and windy walk over Latrigg we were happy to nab a fireside seat where our Collie could lie in front of the fire and dry out, and we could enjoy the good food on offer here. There's a choice of light lunches or bigger more restaurant style meals - I opted for two starters, the soup of the day and the baked camembert. I felt really piggy when it arrived, though - the bowl of soup (carrot and coriander) was HUGE and came with a very generous portion of bread, and the baked camembert (although a mini-size rather than standard) was served with a small ciabatta loaf. Totally delicious and very filling. My husband's Cumberland sausage and mash was also very much enjoyed. The lady behind the bar was really friendly and welcoming - we would definitely recommend this pub!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buddysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Special quality pub food”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I appreciate the majority of the reviews for The Pheasant at Crosthwaite applaude them for their 'quality pub grub', i must add to that growing list myself - this simply is excellent quality food at reasonable pub rates with the added surroundings of a cosy littlle pub with decent beer on hand pull and I must recommend the 'Oyster Stout' if you are a guinness/murphy's lover.
On this occasion i had the pork loin in mustard/chive sauce from the main menu which was full of flavour and came with root vegetables as a great addition, the pork was cooked well and a hearty portion for the price, my wife had the sausage/mash with red wine jus dish which was equally pleasing and all in all a great experience had by all - thoroughly recommend the Frascati from the wine menu, if only all the pubs in Keswick themselves would take even a 'small leaf' out of The Pheasants book it would be a great thing for the area as good pub food done well is hard to find- well done.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whites14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pheasant Inn also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing